We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate

Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate
Ranked #7 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Finished in 1908, this Lake Superior 39-room mansion enjoys a rare, intact collection of original furnishings and art. Because of that, it closely resembles the days when the Congdon family first occupied it. Truly, it is Duluth's answer to Downton Abbey. Situated on a wooded lot, the home boasts spectacular views of Lake Superior, as well as, multiple gardens including formal, flower and vegetable. Guests are also encouraged to explore the carriage house, boat house, stone bridge and pier. Children enjoy the pebbled beach for hours of rock skipping while parents take in a sit on one of Adirondack chairs. Be sure to check out Glensheen as part of your must-do Duluth bucket list.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have been wanting to tour the mansion for many many years, Finally on a nice weekend away with my Dad and my daughter, we went, I was over the moon with excitment, after reading so much of the history pertaining to the Glensheen mansion, and Congdon Family. Every room amazed me.. I would love to go on a unguided tour now just to have a better look, as I felt there were to many people in the group to be able to admire it all... Kathy, Our tour guide was so informative, she knew her stuff, and just a doll!!! To me the price was well worth the tour, knowing that it goes towards the upkeep for the Estate. I will definetly go back in the future for another tour, perhaps the flashlight tour ;-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    207
    44
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place for Duluth History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

A tour of Glensheen is a must for any trip to Duluth. If you love history, architecture or design you will be happy on the tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deoad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chester Congdon lived in this house! The tour is very informative and the grounds are amazing. Seeing how they lived--a book written about the murder of Mrs. Congdon, in the house, by the prosecutors is a must read. John DeSanto and Mark Rubin.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DuluthmnFroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“beautiful estate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We love visiting Glensheen and have taken our kids as well, and they highly enjoyed it (ages 8, 10, 12). We gave them some background history on the family and murder prior to going, and that really kept them curious as we toured. The home and grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept up. I feel that the entry prices are a bit high, and wish that more of the home was included in the general tour. THe views of lake superior are amazing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mngirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glensheen, Manager at Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We love it when children come to the estate and enjoy the tour. They often enjoy looking for the hundreds of carved pineapples in the woodwork and get caught up in the story of the Congdons. I want to acknowledge your comment that the tickets are on the expensive side. We hear you. We wish we could open the house for free, but rest assured the admission fee allows us to keep the doors open. In the summer, we provide employment for 50+ university students and always maintaining this 100-year-old treasure.

Thanks for sharing your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Beautiful house; beautiful grounds. A must-see, especially if you love architecture! Take the time for photos outside with the beautiful Lake Superior view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSP2SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate also viewed

 

Been to Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing