We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great tour1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate

Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate
Ranked #8 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Finished in 1908, this Lake Superior 39-room mansion enjoys a rare, intact collection of original furnishings and art. Because of that, it closely resembles the days when the Congdon family first occupied it. Truly, it is Duluth's answer to Downton Abbey. Situated on a wooded lot, the home boasts spectacular views of Lake Superior, as well as, multiple gardens including formal, flower and vegetable. Guests are also encouraged to explore the carriage house, boat house, stone bridge and pier. Children enjoy the pebbled beach for hours of rock skipping while parents take in a sit on one of Adirondack chairs. Be sure to check out Glensheen as part of your must-do Duluth bucket list.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Awesome tour for 15 bucks! Definately worth the money and the trip. Very cool and informative, no mention of the murder during the tour, though they do offer info after the tour is over if you ask.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    196
    38
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
69 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful estate, but you won't hear about the murders.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We toured Glensheen after reading Will to Murder about the Congdon murders. Saw the first, second, and lower level floors. Every room is beautifully decorated, and the stories about why verious items were selected were interesting. This was certainly an impressive home, and the Congdons history of treating their people and the city well were plentiful.

The gardens and grounds were available to us to explore on our own. Problems with misplaced reservations and a tour guide who seemed a little inexperienced and a little too rote were the only reasons I didn't give this a higher rating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Knitterforallseasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Something Different To Do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As stated in below reviews the tour guides won’t divulge much information on the murders as the mansion was donated to the University of Minnesota and they walk a fine line of protecting the family legacy while trying to promote tours.

Try to brush up on the history before you take the tour. I dusted off my book ‘Secrets of the Congdon Mansion’ by Joe Kimballs and read it during our drive from Minneapolis to Duluth giving highlights to my husband – I had his complete attention the whole drive. It is a short read – 2 to 3 hours from start to finish. The gift shop is open to the public (not just those taking the tour) so you can purchase one of their books beforehand any time while visiting Duluth. The tour will be more interesting if you read the history beforehand.

We did not purchase our tickets in advance. However, the people behind us had to wait for the next tour.

We opted for the standard tour which we felt was more than adequate. Perhaps we had a slower guide but it lasted almost 2 hours. Sometimes it felt a little cramped with 15 people in a small room. Not a lot of places to sit or lean against so wear comfy shoes. You cannot take photos once inside the mansion. Restrooms are port-a-potties.

We are not “tour” people and thought it may be a little boring without the murder and mystery narrative but were pleasantly surprised how interesting it was.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mngolfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Estate and its buildings are certainly historical and sizable, but it's not the cheapest thing to do whilst in Duluth. Kids will get bored easily.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just an interesting mansion to see up on the shores of Lake Superior. The U of M is doing the tours now and it was hard because we were in one room and another tour was in the next room. It was hard to hear our guide sometimes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FriendRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate also viewed

 

Been to Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing