We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfectly fine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Brussels, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Arrived in Deluth late and every room was BOOKED everywhere. I found several $250 a night rooms available. My waitress suggested I try this place. Called and they had rooms. Arrived to find it was old and dated in the middle of new but very comfortable, clean and cheap!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    29
    12
    16
See reviews for
18
58
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I read several reviews, but still decided to give this place a try. Yes, upon opening our door, our non-smoking room did have a " stale smokiness" to it, however, I grew up with smokers, so I wasn't horribly offended. I, myself, do not smoke( never have). The front desk staff was welcoming, friendly and efficient. The room isn't fancy, but it is clean, the beds are comfortable and, LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Great little place
at a fair price. If all rooms are as decent as 206, I would definitely stay again as well as recommend to others.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Fireweed218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflock@excite.com
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here with grandkids and I liked the access to Canal Park. Inexpensive compared to other hotels/motels in the area. We go to Duluth to be outside not to stay in a hotel. There is too many things to do so we just want a place to sleep and that's why we liked this, we could open the door to the outside and not feel "couped in" the owner very nice and place looks kept up and staff helpful. One room smelled like stale smoke even though it was a no smoking room. We opened the door,turned on air conditioner and staff gave us some air freshner so this helped a little. Place full so unable to move to different room. Slept good anyway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our friends stayed here when my wife and I were married, and we joined them for an evening of fun on the rooftop deck. The staff was very helpful and happy to offer suggestions. And you couldn't ask for a better location; just a short walk to great eating, entertainment, solitude, and that Lake! Great place to avoid the chain motel sameness!

Room Tip: All are fine, but upstairs you have a chance at a cool lake breeze in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I have been staying here at least once a year. We LOVE it. If you need anything they are always willing to help. The staff is very helpful with any information they know about what is going on in town. The hotel itself is great! The rooms give a feeling of home. Very clean. The top deck patio is GREAT. You can see the lake very well and watch ships from there. The location is wonderful. Walking distance to the lakewalk, short drive to canal park, and wonderful shopping within blocks.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetmommakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We where just there july 25 thru the 26th just a great place to stay. It was centrally located to everything downton and the owner took pride in taking good car of us. The hotel is retro very clean, and the hotel parking was just super from our floor. The walk out deck was great to look at the lake, best view in the city. Loved to have stayed longer but had to go back to work. My buddy had set this up for us, and the price was right compared to all the stuff arouind us. looking forward to another trip up and eating breakfast at MIKES but pleanty of food to eat. BIGDADDY AND THE LITTLE WOMAN, oh and the kig size bed was great with plenty of closet space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband, myself & our 2 teenage sons stayed in room 205 for a one night business trip. Supposedly NON-SMOKING! We are NOT AGAINST SMOKERS BUT...we do NOT smoke and we could hardly breath because EVERYTHING ABSOLUTELY REEKED OF CIGARETTE SMOKE!!! BEDDING, CARPET, DRAPES, ETC. Needless to say we did NOT SLEEP!! And had a 4 1/2 hour drive home. It cost us $140.00 for one night to NOT sleep in an ashtray in 2 tiny dbl beds!!! It was AWFUL!!! Never again!!

Room Tip: Choose ANOTHER place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Property: Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Address: 333 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing