We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location, OK room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Let me begin this review by stating that I prefer lodging with character as apposed cookie cutter hotel chains. Prior to my stay here, I had spent the week at a turn of the century Train Station Remodeled into a Marriott. Regardless of that prior week, I have traveled across most all of North America and found that good management and pride of ownership will always trump age. However if you are a real estate developer... the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn is a profiteers dream waiting to happen. What I mean by that is... this is the worst house on the best block.

Was the room priced right? Yes.
Was the room in a terrific location? Yes.
Was the room clean? Pretty Much,
Did the Toilet work? Not really.
Was the decor relative to this point in time? Hell No!

There was a Sheraton directly behind us, and if the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn updated their rooms and was $15 cheaper, it would kill the competition.

Long story short... Down Pillow Tops, Comforters, & Pillows are a cheap investment to make a decent motel into a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    29
    12
    16
See reviews for
18
58
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

There is a bit of history with this place and myself. I'm a 2nd generation regular when it come to the Voyageur. Most likely for the same reasons. It's a affordable place that is within walking distance many great options for both drink & dining. And let us face the simple facts of life when traveling, If you can get clean sheets, a hot shower, and a comfortable bed, and still be able to afford a decent meal within walking distance of said place of lodging, it ain't a bad thing. And when you're trying to get the most of your vacation dollar, it's not a bad idea to keep places like this in mind. Besides if all you really want is a place to sleep at the end of the evening , why pay for stuff you're never going to use? Think about it sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sconehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We needed a convenient motel for a 5 day stay. This isn't the fanciest but very clean and comfortable. We've dealt with only one staff member + she's been wonderful! Thinks of any little thing to make it a nicer stay. I wish I'd caught her name
She's suggested reasonably priced restaurants, offered additional pillows and generally been very sweet

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilac1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I wanted to rent a cabin, but didn't want to pay hundreds of dollars. The non-smoking queen jacuzzi suite is a nice compromise. The jacuzzi is in great condition. This suite doesn't have a fireplace. The smoking room and the penthouse suites do have fireplaces. The TV is old, but hopefully you won't be using that. There is a small fridge, microwave, and desk in the room.

We stayed on New Year's Eve. It was so cold, the steam from the jacuzzi formed a seal of ice around the door. The room is right above the front desk, so the staff called to ask if we needed help once they heard us chipping away at the ice. The front desk person pushed the door in from the outside. Once we got out of the room, she helped us again by supplying jumper cables.

The motel is walking distance to Fitgers. I recommend the Duluth Grill for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotasFavoriteVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here the days after Grandmas Marathon. Can't beat the location right downtown. One of the rooftop areas has great views of the lake. Motel is old and could use some updating. Didn't have a bath for our child which proved a little difficult but we made it work. If you don't plan on spending too much time in your room, which I would not recommend while in Duluth, it is good for the price. Local bars are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloberda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This motel is right in town and a convenient location for a good price. Our standard king room was very clean, well furnished and surprisingly large. There's a nice rooftop patio area with tables and chairs that has a good view of Lake Superior. It's on a hill so the parking was opposit the third floor. That parking was limited and if it was full, a covered garage was on the other side of the driveway for additional free parking. It was convenient and well thought out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Opened my door and was met with a smelly room and horse flies. I made my way across the filthy carpeting to the bathroom, & when I opened the shower door it almost fell off. The tile in the shower was stained and dirty. At this point there was no doubt I'd not be staying; thought I'd just peek at the bedding- looked like it had not be washed, but rather just pulled back and re-made. The overall interior was old, tired, and soiled. Back at the front desk I simply told the gal that "I can't stay here", and she credited my card. Immediately checked in at another hotel - granted for much more - and promptly washed my hands. Ish. Just tellin' it as I saw it.

Room Tip: To chose a good room book at another hotel/motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelly76intheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Property: Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Address: 333 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing