We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Questionable Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Questionable Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The motel has a nice view from the viewing deck and it's easy to find at the north end of downtown. Not much parking on the main level with no reserved parking near your door. You have to drive up around the back of the motel and park and walk down. Room was clean but shabby. The bedspreads had burn holes. The shower stall needed a good cleaning and one light blinked off and on for the first couple of minutes you turn it on. Was not worth the price compared to what we stayed in up at Grand Marais for the exact same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnesotan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    29
    12
    16
See reviews for
18
58
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here recently, and the well-tended flowers suggested care for the place, and that was correct. It was clean and they had 'no pet' rooms, so those with allergies will be pleased. One review said there were fleas, but that was untrue. There were lots of cleaning staff around, and the desk person was very pleasant and helpful. You can walk to all the restaurants in Canal Park, and quite a ways along the lake. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stopped here because we like the more 'mom/pop' places over big names. We (two couples on a fishing trip) were traveling to another town and couldn't check in until a day later so this was not a planned stop that we had researched; but did a quick look on our phone for motels while in our car. Their site had said rooms with a lake view & thought we'd give it a try. We were greeted by a very friendly staff which is the right way to start a stay. Unfortunately, they didn't have any rooms that were lake view (apparently most do not have), but we had two of the standard rooms that were pretty clean and the bed was comfortable; although my wife did point out the room was a cookie cutter motel room, one picture on the wall, just plain (other family owned places seem to be more homey) and the a/c was pretty loud but after awhile we kinda got used to it, and we're heavy sleepers . The location was good, again, we were just there for a night as a pit stop, but it was within walking distance for us to go to eat and take a walk around to relax at night. Overall, if we need to stop for a night in the area we will stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perchman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polebridge, Montana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Another repeat stay. Reasonable, affordable.price, and comfortable room. Staff alway great. This is really a nice location to the Canal Park attractions and great restaraunts that are close by. Give this consideration!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I didn't have high expectations for this place but I was still extremely disappointed upon arrival. We had read online that most rooms were lake view rooms. This is false. Most are NOT. We had a ground level room & there was a woman that walked past our room a few times & would stop & glare in on us through the window, which was totally creepy. We had to keep the curtains drawn in an already dreary atmospere. The room smelled terrible & I could barely breathe. I had to wash all of my clothes twice when I got home to get the stench out of them. As we were getting ready to get out of there ASAP the next morning...We noticed a pile of either dog or cat food under the desk. We had brought neither. Which could only mean that the housekeeping definitley wasn't up to par. I don't even want to think about what was on the bedding. Also, the a/c unit was so loud that neither of us slept. It was a HUGE disappointment. Do not stay here! Cheap & there's a reason why!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaJ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night as part of a long cross-country trip. We had never been to Duluth, didn't expect much, but wanted to stay downtown rather than on a highway in case there might be something to see. The reviews of the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn were kind of all over the map. But on balance we were quite pleasantly surprised. Because we were on such a long trip, we had heavy suitcases. So we were delighted that they had parking on the upper level where our room was located in addition to their lower level parking. The room was small, but certainly adequate and reasonably priced, especially for a downtown location in a city. Best of all, it was within walking distance of downtown stores and restaurants and a great redeveloped waterfront area with lots to see and do. Our room actually had a water view. The A/C was kind of noisy and the curtains too thin to keep the sun from shining in in the morning. The "continental breakfast" was danish and coffee in the office. But we really didn't pay for more than that. The office staff was friendly and all in all the place exceeded our expectations for the price. The location was great, within walking distance of fancier hotels on the waterfront that probably cost a lot more. As for Duluth, it also exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was nicely located in downtown Duluth, but the room wasn't what was expected. It seemed like it was a bit ancient and hadn't been updated since the 80's. The room smelled weird, and the shower was in definite need of upgrade. As my friends and I were there for a wedding, the only time we spent there was to sleep so it was fine. The hotel had great views of Lake Superior, with a deck overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: choosing a higher end room might be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Property: Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Address: 333 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing