We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One night getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn and honestly weren't sure what to expect. There was not a room to be found in Duluth, and what was available was $200 + a night! We stayed in one of the "lodge" rooms with a queen bed, whirlpool and lakeview for $125 which seemed a bit high, but not much choice out there! We were so pleasantly surprised when we walked in the room. It was like walking into a little log cabin! So cute and cozy with a whirlpool tub in the corner and a beautiful lake view. It was very clean and the bed and pillows were super comfy! It had a small bathroom with a stand up shower, coffee pot and fridge. Overall the motel was very quiet but with a some traffic noise, which is expected on a busy street downtown. It is within walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants and the casino. We would definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    26
    8
    16
See reviews for
14
55
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Passing through Duluth my husband and I decided to stop for the night. We found the Voyageur Lakewalk, and signed in. The room was a double and cost $79.00 for the night. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We didn’t really check anything out other than the shower. It had hot water and clean towels. We slept well with the exception of some road noise but that was expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As long as you don't want to sleep the place is passable . Both weekend night 3 gang loads of cars pulled into parking lot ,yelled ,swore ,opened and closed doors ,and basically partied . There is a caretaker on sight who had the phone off the hook or was getting too many calls but the people were never told to leave ,or police called . Left after a couple of hours on there own .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

From service upon arrival to cleanliness of our room we were very pleased! The room (king jacuzzi/fireplace) wasn't perfumed to smell clean, it just was. The location was perfect (for us), a block from Fitger's Brewery and steps from The Lakewalk. Most rooms appeared to have a pretty decent view of the lake. All in all, we're impressed!! Stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk for two nights midweek in Sept. The price for a room with two queen beds was $79 plus tax which seemed pretty reasonable considering the downtown location and the good view. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and coffee maker, but no microwave. The wi fi was fast enough. They have a patio overlooking the street and lake. It was pleasant to sit and watch the view. There was no breakfast, but they did have coffee and a small danish available in the lobbby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A friend suggested this place and I thought I'd give it a try. The reviews seemed decent enough and I was traveling alone, on a budget. I paid about $100/night after taxes for a room with 2 queen beds on a Friday and Saturday in the middle of July.

The service was friendly and adequate. My room was clean and didn't and smelled neither of bleach nor anything nasty. Average room size with a small fridge, coffee maker, etc., etc. The roof deck and the free parking are probably the lone amenities of interest, but for $100/night in the middle of summer in Duluth in a prime location, I'm not complaining.

The motel is very close to the Fitger's Brewery Complex and not far from a bunch of other downtown and Canal Park spots. I was able to walk to both Canal Park & the Bayfront Festival grounds without batting an eye. It's a safe neighborhood. I wouldn't hesitate to walk around the area during the day or at night. With the A/C on (it was HOT in Duluth this summer), I slept well and didn't hear anyone above me or on either side. I did hear a few cars in the morning, but nothing that bothered me.

As for hookers and drug dealers... didn't see any. Where do people get these ideas?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 43323Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn several times in the last few years....we keep going back for the following reasons: staff and owner have always gone over and above for our comfort; the location is excellent (walking distance to downtown stores and Canal Park); the accomodations are clean; good value for your dollar; patio access overlooks the lake and adds immensely to your enjoyment, whether it be morning, afternoon or night (this luxury would not be available at hotels that cost three or four times more). We highly recommend this establishment to anyone who is travelling through the Duluth area.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, higher floors are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Lakewalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Property: Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
Address: 333 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing