We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous anytime of year”

Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Kenyon, mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous anytime of year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

definitely worth a second trip! perfect for a photographer or artist looking for inspiration. many rest stops to pull over and take in the view

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank amberknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    182
    39
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Leave your cares behind and take a long drive up the North Shore. There are breathtaking views that make you forget you are in Minnesota. It looks so different from the rest of the states. There are lots of stops along the way for scenic look outs, water falls, hiking and restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyB569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Drive and Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We drove the North Shore in late September hoping to see the fall colors. We were too early! We still enjoyed it a great deal. Thee are maps available at the visitor's center in Duluth. The map outlines the attractions along the way. There are water falls, lighthouses, scenic areas and historical sites.

We only gave ourselves a couple of days to make the drive and we recommend more time. We continued all the way into Canada and around to Sault Ste. Marie. The drive is extremely scenic and remote. This is an out-of-the-way place to go, so take your time and spend about a week in the area. See the sights!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful country!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I enjoyed seeing parks of Lake Superior frozen. I enjoyed seeing the pine trees and spruce trees especially with the snow on the leaves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fruittyandnutty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quintessential experience for the locals and travelers alike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

One will never tire of this drive. The awesome vistas of the lake and rugged shoreline are breathtaking. There are loads of places to pull off and experience it up close, either on a secluded beach, a condo, numerous small towns, Gooseberry Park, Splitrock Lighthouse. The whole family will enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing