We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Superior scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive

Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Superior scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved this drive but only went to slipt light house would have liked to go further but no time. Stopped at Gooseberry falls and would recommend them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    179
    39
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scenic Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I think the scenic drive would be just gorgeous in the fall. Traffic was not a problem so you could drive and still be able to look at everything. We did come across a look out spot which we decided to stop at. It was a nice break besides getting to look things over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PePpEg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Great Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is a beautifully senic drive. But, pick a day when it isn't raining! It has a weird feel when it's all cloud and rainy. But pick a day when you yave 4 hours and drive north! Stop at the numerous parks and enjoy a nice lunch br the lake!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cameron
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing by the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We love driving up the shore and stopping at waysides.
Sitting and listening to the waves is so relaxing.
We also like to look for agates...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenskaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was my first time going to Gooseberry Falls and Split Rock Lighthouse and the drive up there was breathtakingly beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing