We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“some of the most beautiful scenery EVER”

Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“some of the most beautiful scenery EVER”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I can't say enough about how beautiful our North Shore drive was last year. We drove from Duluth up to Split Rock Light House. There are tons of scenic stops on the way. THe fall colors were AMAZING and the lake was beautiful! We stopped at Goosberry falls, which is free to do - the waterfalls are really neat. I've traveled in Europe and the scenery on this road rivals that of some of the best I've ever seen! I would recommend going in the fall to take advantage of the changing leaves - but I'm sure any time of year would be beautiful. you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank mngirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    185
    39
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Slow down and take the scenic route...”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

In a world where everyone is in a rush to get to where they are going, it is nice to take a moment, breathe, and slow life down a bit.

There are some wonderful pull off spots along this drive. Be sure to pack a picnic lunch so you can pull off and really enjoy the lake. One of our favorite spots is Brighton Beach (on Brighton Beach Road), after lunch be sure to stick your feet in the water and relax.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank crzymallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful history AND scenary”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

trip up the scenic road from duluth to two harbors is awesome, and the ride further north to grand portage is equally breathtaking. I did it in august with a friend and we were on two genuine scooters. what a blast. lot's of "artisinal" type food en route and some decent basic places as well.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank scooterboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
286 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautfiul day trip”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Do yourself a favor, spend a day driving up the north shore on the scenic Hwy 61. There are TONS of look out points just off the hwy, several waterfalls within walking distance of the highway (if you know where to look!), and tons of shops along the way. Make sure to stop at Russ Kendall's smoked fish shop and the chocolate shop just north of there (seriously, best chocolate I've ever had!).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Trip Made Even Better!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My family and I make the trip from the Twin Cities and along the North Shore Scenic Drive every three years or so. We love it so much! This year we found something called an audio tour that follows our usual path from the Cities and along the Lake Superior shore. I have to say that it made our trip so much more interesting to be able to listen to the history of each area we passed through, and the kids loved it too. No DVD player needed! I would highly recommend the company called Open Road Adventures to anyone who is planning to make this trip.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing