We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very foggy day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawk Ridge Bird Observatory

Hawk Ridge Bird Observatory
Ranked #26 of 93 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A very foggy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wish the weather had been better. The day before I went it was the perfect day with winds coming from the west. A lot of birds were spotted. The day I went it was foggy and the winds were from the east. I managed to see a hawk but the fog was to thick to identify it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much to do and see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We came to Hawk Ridge at the perfect time. There were bird banding demonstrations were abel to see several hawks released back into their actual habitat. There were many experts there available to answer questions. September is the best time to visit the Observatory.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“You can see forever from here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came from California to experience Hawk Ridge and the timing was right. On the day we arrived, over 7,200 Broadwing Hawks were counted. A few flew close by, most were out over the lake. Bald Eagles were much closer, over land and the tree tops. A quick relaxing 2 hours were spent here. White Throated Sparrows were a new bird for us as were Field Sparrows. Will have to return one year, later in the migration. Wonderful work is being done here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BRubin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflock@excite.com
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Enjoyed stopping and visited with bird counters and beatiful overlook of L. Superior. Well worth the effort to go there

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is really such a nice view of the beautiful Lake Superior and the eastern part of the city. Not many birds to see at this time of the year but it's always a great view.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawk Ridge Bird Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Hawk Ridge Bird Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing