We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place to enjoy the view of Lake Superior!”
Review of Lakewalk

Lakewalk
Ranked #2 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Running along the edge of Lake Superior is a winding and hilly path, a favorite place for skating, biking, jogging and walking.
Princeton, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Such a nice place to enjoy the view of Lake Superior!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We LOVED the Downtown Lakewalk! You could access the sidewalk from just about anywhere near the lake! My kids really enjoyed all the neat statues there were, and just being by the water! For the time we spent in Duluth, we woke up each morning and hit the Lakewalk, and before bed each night, we went out again! There are nice benches for just sitting and enjoying the sunrise, and there's a place where you can rent bikes as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyJoPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    124
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Definitely something to do on a nice day in Duluth. You'll find a number of people using this route as their regular running trail. Once you're down in Canal Park, do stop in for a drink during happy hour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful walking path along lake Superior”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

great way to get some fresh air and exercise while watching all the activity along the lakefront. watch as a great ship signals with their one long, two short blasts to the aerial lift bridge that they are approaching and listen for the bridge to respond in kind with its mighty horns. walk to the lighthouse and watch the sun sparkle on the largest of the great lakes

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We rode bikes and walked part of it. The kids loved climbing the rocks along there. It's nice...relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oceansoul39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“WALK, BIKE, JOG, SIT AND ENJOY”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We heard nothing but raves about the Lakewalk, and all were "right on". This paved walk affords wonderful views, beautiful gardens, and hugs the shoreline of lake and harbor. There is access to shops and other amenities that are located above the Lakewalk. Lots of benches to pause and drink in the sights and sounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakewalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing