We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Ship watching!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On Lake Superior to your Saves list
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Ship watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Complimentary s'mores at night with a bonfire by the lake was a great added touch. Plenty of breakfast items. They got me in the room early, which was great. We liked the roof top hot tub which only had adults later in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lovethelakes3,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    256
    80
    40
    20
See reviews for
491
349
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Inn for 7 summers in a row now.We combine our business workshops with family vacation. It is very accommodating in both respects.The staff is wonderful and l highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful, clean, and quiet. Lakeside is beautiful, poolside is good for family, and st...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn is very environmental friendly and still accommodates your needs.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Arleen S,

Thank you very much for making us your hotel of choice in Duluth for both business workshops and family vacations, and for taking the time to write and post your review. I'm glad we are able to exceed your high standards for service and accommodations, and really appreciate your great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice, clean hotel on Lake Superior. We paid the difference and got a lake view. Lovely to sit on our little balcony and look at the lake. Staff nice and accommodating. Breakfast typical of hotel breakfasts, but good. Had LOTS of waffle makers to ease congestion. We didn't take advantage of the pools, but they looked nice. Our room was quiet, esp considering there were lots of groups here. Nice amenities in the room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear jmull50,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Having planned our trip at the last minute in July, the prices were pretty steep. That would probably be true at every hotel in Duluth. That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Our room appeared to be recently remodeled. The staff was amazing-very friendly and professional. The breakfast was delicious and well attended with a large variety to choose from, hot or cold. The view of the lake and location to the lift bridge is perfect. An excellent choice for families or couples wanting to relax.

Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel recycles! They have recycling places in the lobby and in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisco5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Wisco5,

Thanks for posting your wonderful comments about our hotel. We value all guest feedback, and it's especially gratifying when it is as positive as yours. I'm glad you were able to relax here and your strong recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Can't beat the location, you can watch the ships come in right from your room. The service, the breakfast, the nightly s'mores it was all great. Never had to drive anywhere all the shops and attractions are a sort walk away.

Room Tip: Definitely get lake view , ground level was great we could walk right out to the water and the board...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in every room and all over the hotel. Not to mention solor trash compactors all over the Duluth area.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Dj S,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. Canal Park is a wonderful part of Duluth, and we are fortunate to be right in the middle of all the restaurants, shops and attractions here. Being right on Lake Superior and close to the ship canal are two more great things we have to offer all our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and hope we can welcome you back and serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed here for a wedding. The location is great, close to anything Duluth has to offer. The hotel is VERY family oriented - lots of kids running around. The breakfast they offer is excellent. Check in was fine, but a bit disappointed in the "bridge view" room, it was a very obstructed view, they really shouldn't call it a bridge view or charge a premium for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank healsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear healsea,

I'm sorry you were disappointed with the view from your room and offer my apologies for not being more descriptive when you were making your reservation. I will certainly address this with our front desk team so we can make any changes to our procedures. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including that in your review. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I chose this hotel for its great location, good breakfast and price (everything in Duluth is expensive in my opinion). It was right in Canal Park which is fun because it is in within walking distance of so much, including a microbrew. I docked the hotel points on cleanliness and service because our bathroom was not clean and the employee who checked us out, did not look away from her computer for a single moment. On the other hand, the housekeeping staff who I met in the hallway and the staff at breakfast were genuinely kind, cheery and helpful. The breakfast area was spacious, seating was plentiful and there were many items to chose from, including make your own waffle. The hot tub was great. This hotel was quiet even though there were many families staying here.

Room Tip: We did not get a room with a view of the lake and were perfectly fine with this choice. If we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Valerie M,

Thank you for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you did not get the excellent service we are known for from members of our team, and hope you will accept my apologies any discomfort or dissatisfaction you experienced. I'll use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation so this type of thing does not continue or recur. I hope you stay with us again so that you can see us at our best.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing