We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location on Great Lake with Great People” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location on Great Lake with Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Inn is on the shore of Lake Superior in Duluth. It is right in the middle of shops, restaurants and many activities. We had room 130 facing the lake on the ground floor. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Very clean. Breakfast included with usual choices. Best feature was ability to walk from room directly to lake front. Hotel is within a block of where the huge ships enter port. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this destination and hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWithGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear GoWithGrace,

Thank you very much for posting your great review about your recent stay with us. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and your recommendation. We look forward to serving you here again,.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    273
    86
    43
    20
See reviews for
521
366
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Inn was kind of below my expectations. Sure the view of the lake is good but you pay a pretty penny for it. The balcony was nice. We ate our breakfast both days on our balcony instead of in the dining area with everyone else. The location is nice right on canal park. You can walk to anything in the canal area.
The shower -no tub- seemed updated. Good water pressure. The beds were comfortable too. It was nice to have complementary water and soda in the fridge....the least they could do for $250 a night.

The not so good part of the review....the carpets were really out of date and were either worn, stained or dirty. The comforter on the bed had stains and I hope it was clean. The other issue was the hockey team or teams were on our floor. the parents were all getting drunk downstairs and by the fire and about 20 twelve year old boys were being loud in the room next door. Because of the convention center facilities you have to be ready for big groups here.

Here's the big tip.....if one online site says the hotel is full, keep searching. Trip advisor and the hotels website said they were full on the nights we wanted. I was able to find open rooms on Orbitz.

Overall I wanted to give a 3 rating and my wife said 4.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must.
See more room tips
Green Features: Separate wastebasket and recycle bin in the room. .............,,......,....................................................................................
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MarkandJoy,

Thanks for taking the time to make us aware of your disappointment with us during your recent stay. I hope you will accept my apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced. We are in the process of upgrading all our rooms - a little over a third have received complete makeovers, including carpet, tho this is no excuse for finding carpets in poor condition. I'm sorry too that you were disturbed by other guests and will use your review in discussions and training to improve the way we monitor and manage our public areas. I hope you will give us the chance to regain your trust on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Duluth is simply a beautiful and well-endowed natural beauty along the shores of Lake Superior in Minnesota. That said, visitors would be well-advised to find a room at one of the four lake-front hotels, ESPECIALLY The Inn on the Lake. We have stayed here many a time and just love everything about it. Though the front staff could be a bit more accommodating and informed, the rest of the hotel delivers in grand style, especially the complimentary breakfast, hearty by all standards, and the marshmallows-and-smores every evening. Use the hotel as a base to drive up to Grand Marais, 100 miles further north, and just 14 miles beyond GM, check out the Nanibijou Hotel, which is noteworthy for its high-tea. Simply excellent! By the way, the Canadian border is just about 40 miles from GM, which, in my biased opinion, is, like Duluth, superior by nature!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, preferably the 3rd, for dramatic views of the lake and vicinity. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear AKD47,

Thanks for staying with us again and for taking the time to write and post your nice review about us and our area. I'm sorry to hear you did not receive excellent service from our front desk team, and apologize for letting you down. I'd like to learn more details so we can make any changes to improve our service and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. We value your business and your feedback, and look forward to delivering a better guest experience to you the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great hotel in Canal Park. The location is fantastic - right in the heart of Canal Park on the lake. The lakewalk is right outside the hotel as well. You can literally walk anywhere you want to go from the hotel.

The staff was wonderful. Every time we passed a staff member in the hall, they greeted us warmly and asked how we were doing. Actually...the tv in our living room area was working, not that we cared (we didn't go there to watch tv :)), anyway - when passing a few staff members in the hallway, we had mentioned this issue - they immediately took care of the problem and apologized for the inconvenience! Now that's great guest service! When checking in, I requested a room away from stairwells (we have a 4 month old - need quiet for naps, etc.). They were very accommodating and found us a great room away from stairwells and other potential noisy areas. Front desk staff, maintenance, the breakfast staff, etc. - ALL wonderful.

The room was huge. We stayed in a lake view king bed room. Wasn't expecting the large living room area, so that was a bonus. Everything seemed clean. The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was pretty standard. The balcony was nice - had two chairs and a table - nothing fancy, but all we cared about was the view anyway.

The breakfast was great. Had the standard cereals, waffles, bagels, yogurt, some fruit - but also had a hot breakfast choice. One day was scrambled eggs with ham and cheese (yum), another day was scrambled eggs and a potato dish with bell peppers and onions (also yum). Coffee, juice, milk, hot chocolate, and cappuccinos were available 24/7.

We didn't go to the s'mores thing so I can't comment on that. They gave us some Hershey's bars which are always good!

We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Lake view is awesome if you want to spend a little more. We were on the 2nd floor, west side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Sara S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your thorough review about our hotel. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned from a family reunion in Duluth and we stayed at The Inn on Lake Superior. While this hotel is located in the heart of Canal Park I will never stay here again. One of the most disappointing aspects of our stay occurred while sitting on the patio, enjoying the two fire pits. At 9:30 they stopped serving s'mores. At 10:00 they turned off the fire pits! At 11:00 they kicked everyone off the patio! They shut down the patio at 11:00? On a Saturday night? So everyone went to sit in the lounge area only to be told we could NOT stay and continue visiting! We were told to either "go back to our rooms or go to another establishment!" Go to our rooms? Really? They even had a police officer standing by to ensure we all left the patio. Not one guest on the patio was loud...everyone was just enjoying a moonlit night and bam...we had to go back to our rooms. Extremely disappointing!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Lisa R,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your disappointment with us due to closing our patio and public areas at 11 pm. Being a hotel, by definition, we must remember that our guests are here for a good night's sleep, among other things, possibly. We have established 11 pm as the quiet time for all areas of our hotel, with the exception of when someone rents the banquet space in our conference center. We probably should have handled your request more diplomatically, and for that I am truly sorry. I will certainly use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I sincerely hope you will give us the chance to regain your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the nicest hotel I have been too. Great and friendly staff! The best continental breakfast. Free bike rental and SMORES. Very clean. Easy walk to local attractions. Everything you need is in walking distance. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean. Room has a recycling bin which was very nice. They also offer free bike rentals so it makes getting around Canal Park great!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Cody D,

Thanks for posting you nice review about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Inn is a perfect location on Lake Superior. The first floor rooms allow for easy access to the lakewalk. There are restaurants and activities within walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Lake side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear R A,

Thanks for posting comments about your stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing