We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in low season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis
1 review
“Our stay in low season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Inn on the Lake is always consistent with great service, great location, and nice amenities. Bedding and mattress are all good quality - no foam blankets! During high season on weekends, the place is deluged with families. I love kids, but they will overwhelm the pools during these times. We enjoy the rooftop pool, but the teenagers that congregate there definitely project a chill when they see a fifty something couple arrive.

During our November Sunday overnight, it was nicely quiet. My husband was thrilled to see a fox when he went out to make a 'smore around the fire. It was skittish, but came up and accepted a marshmallow.

At breakfast Monday, there were at least three ships that came in or went out between 7:30 and 9:00 (we were wandering in and out of the dining area), and the view from the Inn's dining room is first rate. It was a fun touch that one of the servers went around the dining room offering mini-donuts fresh from the fryer.

All around great base from which to explore Canal Park.

Room Tip: If you want lake views from the balcony, take at least a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    256
    80
    40
    20
See reviews for
491
349
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved being able to walk in the downtown area, go to Canal Park and watch a ship come in, and walk back to the hotel. It was so fun. The customer service was exceptional. The room was very clean, and the bed was so comfortable. It would have been fun to stay another day just to get time to enjoy the pool area. The view was beautiful and the little pair of binoculars to watch for the ships were so fun! Can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: We did not use room service, but the continental breakfast had a large selection of food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverDog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear SilverDog2013,

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
269 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Whenever we're in Duluth we stay at the Inn on Lake Superior. The rooms are very nice, fairly large and many have great views of the lake. There is a free breakfast but it wasn't very good on the Friday we left. Eggs that had been sitting for some time in the heaters and no meat choices whatsoever. You can't beat the location which is right on the canal and within a block or so of many restaurants, antique stores and tour boats. We've stayed at other hotels on this street but the paper thin walls left much to be desired. This hotel is quiet and offers a good night's sleep.
There are s'mores each evening around the fire on the lake side of the hotel and they are very popular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear SteveoinMinnesoto,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast and offer my apologies. I will use you review in discussions and training to improve our operation. We value your feedback and your business and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutsen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place really has it down. I really admire the management of this facility. From check in to check out all was totally professional, well thought out and off the charts in terms of attention to detail. Everybody--I mean everybody is friendly and professional. Rooms are immaculate and well appointed with real coffee mugs, binoculars and complimentary beverages. It was very slow so we asked for and got a lake view room to our liking. It was really wonderful in comparison to a couple of nights before at another place. Wish we would have stayed all 3 nights here!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutsenresorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Lutsenresorter,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us and submitting another review about your experience here. It i's guests like you who make our jobs keeping the hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

1st stay here, although have been celebrating in Duluth for years. Very clean, comfortable room with a Great Lake view. Good breakfasts in am even warm fresh tiny doughnuts. Yum! Received a great rate. Would be worth paying seasonal up charge. Enjoyed coffee in room in real cups. No plastic here. Will stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skjohns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Skjohns2,

Thanks for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us this year. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your compliments. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here for many birthdays to come.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a Whirlpool King Suite and couldn't believe the size of the tub! Everything was very clean and we loved the massage bars they provided. They kept all amenities well stocked and the we had no problem with noise. The outdoor pool was amazing!! While it was heated, it was still a little too cold outside to fully enjoy it; but the view was awesome. Their breakfast area had an amazing view of the lake. The hot tub was nice and big and they also have a sauna! We achieved exactly what we were looking for from this hotel - relaxation.

Room Tip: We reserved under city view and it actually was a view of nothing but the roof/exterior wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Kylie J,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your business. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakapeee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Right now I'm relaxing in a comfortable bed,yummy s'mores in my throat,overlooking a beautiful lake,waiting for hot breakfast in the morning. All the other hotel don't have private porch. It great! The lady at the front was very rude. It a GREAT

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank valleyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear valleyfair,

Thanks for posting your wonderful review and rating about our hotel. I'm truly sorry if you did not receive the excellent service we are known for from a member of our team and would like to learn more. I hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. I'm glad you were happy with your stay and hope you will let be our guest again and let us show you this one incident was the exception, not the rule.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing