We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bigfork, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was very impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a Whirlpool King Suite and couldn't believe the size of the tub! Everything was very clean and we loved the massage bars they provided. They kept all amenities well stocked and the we had no problem with noise. The outdoor pool was amazing!! While it was heated, it was still a little too cold outside to fully enjoy it; but the view was awesome. Their breakfast area had an amazing view of the lake. The hot tub was nice and big and they also have a sauna! We achieved exactly what we were looking for from this hotel - relaxation.

Room Tip: We reserved under city view and it actually was a view of nothing but the roof/exterior wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Kylie J,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your business. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    283
    92
    47
    26
See reviews for
573
386
26
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shakapeee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Right now I'm relaxing in a comfortable bed,yummy s'mores in my throat,overlooking a beautiful lake,waiting for hot breakfast in the morning. All the other hotel don't have private porch. It great! The lady at the front was very rude. It a GREAT

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank valleyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear valleyfair,

Thanks for posting your wonderful review and rating about our hotel. I'm truly sorry if you did not receive the excellent service we are known for from a member of our team and would like to learn more. I hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further. I'm glad you were happy with your stay and hope you will let be our guest again and let us show you this one incident was the exception, not the rule.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazeppa, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Inn On The Lake is comfortable, relaxing, addictive! We stay there at least once a year and are 110% satisfied each time. It costs a lot, but being so close to Lake Superior and Canal Park's restaurants and attractions is worth it. They have remodeled and upgraded their facility recently - it is very nice. In the few times we have had a disappointing experience, the management is very proactive in making amends. We love the Inn On The Lake!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room - we saw a perfectly calm lake, one with crashing waves, clouds hovering over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane195019681971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Diane195019681971,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've now stayed here twice and loved it both times. The heated rooftop pool is wonderful on a chilly night, and there are countless little touches the hotel offers to make your stay memorable: nightly s'mores, but also a staff member who comes around at breakfast with fresh mini-donuts! (That may be just on weekends, I'm not sure.) They sometimes have free hot cider in the lobby, as well as a fireplace with a fire. There are loaner binoculars in your room, and complimentary pop in the mini-fridge. There was music down in the breakfast area on Friday and Saturday night.

The hotel is right on the shores of Lake Superior and the view from the lake front rooms is fantastic.

Room Tip: You'll be happiest with a third-floor room if you want to use the heated rooftop pool on a chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear NMpls,

Thanks for coming back to us and posting your comments. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here an hope we can serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North St. Paul, Mn
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visit Duluth Superior a couple of times a year, & at least one time we will stay at The Inn on Lake Superior. The Inn is located in Canal Park so it is in the heart of where the action is, but its still quiet enough also. We stayed on the top floor (room 336) facing the lake. Let me tell you the view is to die for. The ships come through day & night, so you will get a good look at them coming & going. This resort does everything just right when it comes to comfort & hospitality. They have a full breakfast in the morning that is wonderful. Every room has a balcony, we would enjoy a cocktail while sitting out there with the great view. I cant wait to return in the near future.

Room Tip: If you can, get a Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 63moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 63moose,

Thanks for your many visits and detailed review. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments.We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As a UMD football parent I have stayed at many different locations in the Duluth and Canal Park area, and The Inn is by far the best! The atmosphere is so soothing and comfortable, the rooms are spacious, and I look forward to 6:30am and the breakfast room/waffles. Nothing better. The evening s'mores is awesome - even if I so just take my chocolate and crackers back to my room! The Inn is super clean, all the staff is welcoming, and the location and view cannot be beat. Do yourself a favor and stay here!!

Room Tip: I always stay in a room with two queens and a pull out sofa - SUPER spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly76intheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Shelly76intheville,

Thanks for your glowing review about your many experiences at our hotel. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay and great service. We really appreciate your business and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary last week. The staff was amazing. Clean rooms, s'mores in the evening, beautiful view and complimentary champagne and chocolate in our room. Thanks to everyone at the inn we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianD1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear BrianD1388,

Congrats to you and your wife on your anniversary! Thanks for deciding to celebrate and enjoy this special occasion with us. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours, and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing