We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place - Can't Wait To Go Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place - Can't Wait To Go Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a week long road trip of 1600 miles, we were looking for a place in downtown Duluth where we could just park the car and enjoy a nice place. We did not have reservations so I called a few places and most places were very expensive. We drove out to Canal Park Drive and stopped at the Inn on Lake Superior. We were greeted immediately by front desk staff and they were so helpful. This place is a model of customer service. Everything was explained thoroughly in regards to what the hotel offered during our stay. We stayed in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool. Our room was very clean and large. It was decorated very nice. Breakfast was wonderful in the morning. There were plenty of healthy choices, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc along with all the "all you can eat" choices. We brought our morning coffee and food out to the outside patio overlooking Superior each morning and the view was breathtaking. The hotel also offers bikes for guests and there is a 15 mile bike trail that passes right in the back of the hotel. Each night Smores are offered on the outside patio. This hotel was very reasonably priced for all the services that we received. We were so impressed with this hotel and Duluth that we can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyLbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    267
    82
    40
    20
See reviews for
514
356
22
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shortsville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Inn does everything right! From your ride in from the airport to your "Grab & Go" breakfast when you leave. Room was clean and comfortable and the view was to die for. Breakfast each morning was extensive and well cared for. I have traveled alot through the years and have never written a review, but feel very strongly that it would be hard not to have great memories of staying here. The staff makes you feel very special....LOVE IT!!!!!

Room Tip: You must be water side......The view of the Lake is unbelievable!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BishRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was. Easy to get to, with a self-service windshield washing station in the parking lot! Room was well appointed, attractive, spacious with a private balcony overlooking the lake and city. Great location in the middle of the Canal Street area. Don't hesitate to make a reservation here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Great2baHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in Canal Park, just off downtown Duluth. The immediate area has a large selection of pubs, restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is an excellent choice when staying in Duluth.

The room was wonderful with a balcony facing the lake. It was tons of fun just watching the world go by (walking, running, bicycling, sailing, big ships!). The roof top pool was small but a great place to sit and have a drink. The main floor pool was a nice size but we did not use it, the hot tub or the sauna.

The breakfast was wonderful - a large variety and healthy options. You could sit indoors or outside on the patio. At 8 pm there were 2 gas fireplaces where all the fixings for smores were provided. It was a wonderful atmosphere right by the lake.

My only suggestion for the hotel is to open the main floor pool at 7 am instead of 8 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice...at the beginning and end of our trip. Both times we had an upper level lakeview room with a balcony and a great view. Binoculars were provided and were a really nice added touch.

The guestroom renovations were very tastefully done and we really enjoyed the upgradied bedding and choice of pillows. We also loved the very large beautiful tiled shower with the rainhead nozzle.

Check in was fast and efficient, and every staff member we encountered was courteous and helpful. We were surprised at how quiet our room was, as the hotel was very busy both times.

As others have mentioned, a great location convenient to many restaurants and shops without ever having to get in your car. (loved Pizza Luce)

All in all a really great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fellowtravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is our first time staying at this hotel.We stayed on the Tall ships event weekend.All the other hotels on canal park are fully booked.We have stayed next door twice at Comfort Suites last year.This is the only one with availability.I thought its pricey,paid 250/night for 2 nights.2 Queen beds and sofa.Check in was a breeze,we stayed on the third floor with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior.Room was clean,bed comfy.Flat screen TV,fridge,microwave,coffee maker.Lakewalk was just right the back door of hotel.Breakfast was plentiful. They have scrambled eggs with sausage,waffles,bread,fruit,cereal,brewed coffee etc.I love their breakfast.They have s'mores at night.tried that too.We enjoyed the tall ships and lakewalk.It was a relaxing and enjoyable stay.I would stay here again.

Room Tip: stay on higher floors for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley_122000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Once again this year, our trip "up North" included a short stay in Canal Park, Duluth. We have always found The Inn on Lake Superior to be comfortable and inviting: large indoor and smaller outdoor (bridge view) pools, firm beds, and enough "yard area" for kids to play without disturbing other guests. We enjoy reading on the balconies, stretching our legs on the Lake Walk, and watching ships approach the harbor. Of course, wonderful restaurants close by doesn't hurt either!

Room Tip: Second and third floors, lake side of course, keeps you above play during the day and s'mores i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing