We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value & location, location, location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
297 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Value & location, location, location!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn twice now, and most recently was this past June. The hotel lobby and most of the rooms have been remodeled. I was very impressed with the new design and décor. We requested a lake view room and it did not disappoint. I was traveling with a female friend and our daughters who were celebrating turning 12. I made a notation of this on the reservation and when we got to our room, there was sparkling cider, champagne glasses and a treat bag awaiting the girls along with a note wishing them a very happy birthday! We were so impressed. The FREE breakfast is very nice with many choices. But the best part is the lakeside view and the smores every night! I love the location right in Canal Park. This hotel is close to all the great shops and restaurants and there are so many great activities. Do not miss the rooftop pool...heated!! And they even offer FREE bicycles! This is my hotel of choice forever...each time I head to the North Shore!! A wonderful place!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! Visit the roof top pool at night, and take a bike for a spin on the boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear lkhuges,

Thanks for coming back to us for the girls' 12th birthday celebrations! We want to create long lasting pleasant memories for all our guests, and I'm glad we made you all happy. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again on future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    280
    90
    46
    23
See reviews for
550
381
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The nightly s'more bar was a great idea. It's a fantastic hotel for both couples and families.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coolerthanlegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Coolerthanlegos,

Thanks for posting your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and hope you will let us serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The reason I give a 2 for cleanliness, its not the rooms or lobby it is the eating area.This is only thing that I can think of that is negative about the hotel, They need to use a bleaching agent to get rid of the "after" effects of spilled food, or just the baked smell of food on the plates?! If you can fix this problem, this hotel would be top rated!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shjacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Shjacobsen,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your insights about our breakfast service, I have shared your comments with our team and we will do our best to improve our operation. I hope you will let us know how we are doing the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We came for a weekend get away with my husband, son and girlfriend. We arrived and were greeted with friendly staff. It was a busy checkin time and everyone was up beat and very helpful. Our room was a "bridge view" we had two queen beds, couch, chairs, desk, fridge, microwave and small deck facing the lift bridge. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom had shower and toilet. The sink and mirror was on the outside of the bathroom, which worked nice for us as we had 4 people in our room. The breakfast in the morning was very good, make your own waffle with strawberries, whipped cream, syrup. Eggs, bacon or sausage, fruit, cereal, danishes, coffee, cappaccuino, milk and juices... could sit inside or outside facing Lake Superior. In the evening they had s'mores supplies available in the same area. Pick up your chocolate, grahman crackers and marshmallows, grab a stick and go outside and roast your marshmallows. The Inn is located right on Lake Superior in Canal Park. Canal Park has lots of shops and restaurants all within walking distance. It is located just a block or so from the Lift Bridge so you can very easily hear the bridge sound when a it will be going up and a large barge going through. There are bike, walking paths all along the hotel. We had a very pleasant experience. The cost was a little more than we would like, but after pricing other hotels in the area, this is what they cost. Why not pay an extra $ a night and be right on the Lake? We will stay here again when we visit Duluth.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDonna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear LaDonna V,

Thanks for posting your great review about our hotel. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited Duluth for a short summer stay and visit to UMD for my 17 year old. I've heard great things about The Inn and decided to give it a try. We typically stay next door at the Hampton Inn and have been very happy there.

Access to the lake from our first floor room was great. We enjoyed having our own patio. The room was quite small for four of us but access to the outdoors was worth it.

Rooms were clean and quiet. We didn't hear any neighbors although the hotel was filled with young children.

I will indicate that although the breakfast selection was great the lines were unbearable and seating limited.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelSnobMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear HotelSnobMpls,

Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the lines and seating at our popular complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and offer my apologies. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and hope you will give us another chance to serve you on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great place to stay and have a view of Lake Superior from your room. A nice touch over the 4th of July weekend their was a live entertainment from 6-8pm. Close to restaurants and bars in Canal Park as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jerry H,

Thanks for posting your comments and 5 star rating of our hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy yourself while you were here, and hope you will be our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here these last two days and it was great. Rooms were very clean, beds soft and our balcony lake side view was AMAZING. Watching the lake walk traffic both human and animal (horse carriage rides) was great. I have been coming to Duluth for over 20 years and have stayed at various places but this one will be my home away from home from now on. Some people may complain about the prices of the rooms but by the time you add up all the driving and parking costs to get to most of the places to see...your better off staying on the canal, where all the action is. The breakfasts are very impressive. Smores by the fire every night on the patio and the view of the lake and watching all the massive boats come and go is WORTH the price. We will be back every year :) Thanks for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Jennifer K,

Thank you very much for your awesome review! We're thrilled that you like us better than other places you've stayed, and that we have become your hotel of choice for future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing