We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here these last two days and it was great. Rooms were very clean, beds soft and our balcony lake side view was AMAZING. Watching the lake walk traffic both human and animal (horse carriage rides) was great. I have been coming to Duluth for over 20 years and have stayed at various places but this one will be my home away from home from now on. Some people may complain about the prices of the rooms but by the time you add up all the driving and parking costs to get to most of the places to see...your better off staying on the canal, where all the action is. The breakfasts are very impressive. Smores by the fire every night on the patio and the view of the lake and watching all the massive boats come and go is WORTH the price. We will be back every year :) Thanks for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Jennifer K,

Thank you very much for your awesome review! We're thrilled that you like us better than other places you've stayed, and that we have become your hotel of choice for future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at The Inn on Lake Superior. The room was spacious and quiet. The parking was plentiful. The smores at night out back were a nice touch. The breakfast was amazing. I don't think I've ever seen such a large breakfast room or seen such a vast selection. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was very clean. My only complaint would be the indoor pool seemed like it had too much chlorine and the roof top pool was very small and crowded. The location can't be beat though next to the boardwalk and overlooking the lake. We really enjoyed it for our family of 4.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyGRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear AmyGRochesterMN,

Thanks for posting your nice review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry the rooftop pool was crowded and offer my apologies. I've reviewed the records for the main pool and assure you that all tests were well with required ranges, and there was never any danger to our guests. I hope you will let us know how we are doing the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with kids for 4th of July getaway. We were in a third floor lake view room. The room was typical but the balcony with a view was amazing! We loved watching the ships come in. Make sure to get a schedule of when the big ships come. We found it to be pretty accurate and the hotel is maybe the equivalent of a block and a half from the canal so you can watch them go through. There is a large indoor pool and also a third floor roof top pool. We did not use either. There was live music on the back patio both nights along with the fire pits and making for s'mores. There is also bean bag toss game. Nice and relaxing evenings. During the day you can walk to the shops and restraunts which are just accross from the hotel entrance. If you don't like walking, the hotel offers free bikes for both adults and kids. Breakfast was better than average. This hotel was expensive and I may try something different next time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MrsLUVStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Allison C,

Thanks for posting your review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service you received here and hope you will let us serve you here again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was a cold weekend, and our hockey games messed with our schedule, so we didn't get a chance to take advantage of the patio or the s'mores! These are the main reasons we stay at this hotel. The renovations are very nice since our last visit, and the breakfast selection is still better than most hotels. Once again, a nice stay.
The only issue is that the hotels on this strip are very very pricy. I understand with a tournament in the city, but on the internet I wasn't seeing anyting under $200/night. Quite pricy for an average hotel.

Room Tip: The views of the lake are lovely, but you can save a lot of money by taking a city view, and then en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IA_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear IA_Canuck,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us during your recent hockey tournament. I'm glad you like the remodeling and other improvements that we've made and am sorry you weren't able to enjoy the pools or s'mores this time. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stay at your place every 4th of July and love it there. Family friendly, location rocks, and the staff is friendly. We will be back next year for sure. The only thing that I did not like this year was the way the breakfast is set up. There were lines, where as in previous years there were not (only for the waffles). There used to be double of items which kept the flow moving better. Maybe putting the coffee bar in a different place would work. Miss our vacation spot already!

Room Tip: Lake side is the best! You get the breeze off the lake on warm days and it feels good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Becky H,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast and offer my apologies. We value all guest input and will consider your suggestion as we work to improve our operation. We look forward to hearing from you again after your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We absolutely love The Inn On Lake Superior! We have stayed there several times over the past 7 years. Every time it has been the most enjoyable, comfortable stay. The staff is always very accommodating. On our last visit, we were very impressed with the breakfast and newly remodeled breakfast area. We already have two more weekends reserved for later this year. We can't wait!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KristinP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear KristinP2,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your many visits with us. I'm glad you know you can count on us for an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We love having you here and look forward to welcoming you back many times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband had to travel to St. Cloud for business so we (me, two kids) tagged along to make a vacation out of it! Everyone told us that we could not go all the way to MN (from Texas) and not visit Duluth. So, we booked a room here because that's where everyone told us we had to stay! Boy, were we impressed! Clean rooms, friendly staff, and the view...no words to describe! We will be back for sure. The rates were so reasonable for the location. We really did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedCorralRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear RedCorralRanch,

Thanks so much for listening to your friends and for staying with us during your recent visit to Duluth. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and hope you will tag along on another trip to our area soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Inn on Lake Superior

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $101 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing