We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“our favorite winter getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“our favorite winter getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

There is nothing to complain about at the IOLS. It's a great property, terrific setting, wonderful service and unbeatable value. Our family of four has stayed there 8 - 10 times, and we've recommended it without hesitation. The pool area is really fun for all ages and there's plenty to see and do in Duluth.

Room Tip: we prefer to stay closer to the pool, and forgo the larger 'suites,' though we have tried th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your many visits and for sharing your comments and 5 star rating. I'm so glad you know you can count on us to provide you with a great stay, and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    257
    80
    40
    20
See reviews for
494
350
22
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in Duluth, but this was our first visit to the Inn on Lake Superior. Although we only stayed one night, we were very pleased with our accommodations. Rooms were lovely, clean, and well appointed with comfortable beds. The free breakfast is very good, easy to get around and select your items, and plenty of seating in the dining area with views of the Lake. They also offered S'Mores over a terrace bonfire in the evening which was a nice touch. The hotel is situated in Canal Park, an area on the lake front offering a wide variety of shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Spirit Mountain Ski area is a short drive away. We stayed at the Inn in early March and the room rate was very reasonable for a (indoor) poolside room. It will be interesting to see how rates change during busy summer travel season. We will stay here again -- great experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room adjoining the indoor pool/hot tub area. The noise level was acceptable, and I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for giving our hotel a try during your recent visit to Duluth, and for sharing your comments. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and hope you will let us serve you here again the next time you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel doesn't really look like a traditional "Inn," but I think that's the point: this place is a staple of Canal Park as it should be!

The rates aren't cheap, but not a rip off either. Our room had a large flat screen TV, balcany with a view of the Gr8 Lake itself, and two very comfy beds.

I've stayed here twice, and can't think of any problems either time.

Small quips: the free breakfast has some good items, but some that taste truly artificial and full of chemicals. And no, I'm not an old lady complaining, I'm a male college student. Plus, the layout is sort of confusing and not in an aesthetic way (which I've seen and given a pass to for some larger, out of state hotels). However, if this is done to make sure they get more views of the lake and whatnot, then it's completely forgiven!

But those are small rants about an overall great place. I totally plan to stay here again!

Room Tip: As you can guess, it is always a steller idea to ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun_Fire_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your candid comments. We value all guest input and I really appreciate your assessment of some of our breakfast items. We are always looking for new ways to improve our operation, and I will include your review in our discussions. I'm glad you find that we provide good value for you, and I look forward to hearing from you again whenever you are our guest here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed there twice and both times have been excellent. The staff has been most helpful and the visits have been great. This time they were doing a renovation of the entry and despite that everything was excellent. It is also an easy walk to the canal (could see ships coming in from our window) and several very good eating places. It was -10 degrees (and still ships were coming in) when we were there and there were several places that delivered (which we used) and we were also close enough to walk to some without freezing to death. It was a great couple of days.

Room Tip: The lake side or canal side are worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to make your very first TA review about your excellent experiences here at the Inn. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here, and didn't let a few degrees below zero have a negative affect on your visit. Duluth is wonderful regardless of the weather, and we hope you will let us serve you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I went up to Duluth for just one night and we stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior and we loved it. The room was really nice, we had a Queen with bridge view. There was a fridge in the room with 2 bottles of complementary water, we thought that was really nice bonus. We arrived on Saturday at about noon and was able to check in early. I love to work out so I visited the gym Sunday morning and although small it was nice to have available and the machines are in great condition. The room was really nice and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed in many places in Duluth and this is by far our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to earn your business during your recent visit to Duluth, and for sharing your review about us. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and we're really glad to know we have become your hotel of choice when you are in our area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I always come to Duluth every chance we get and when we stay we always stay at the Inn! It feels like a second home. Staff has always been friendly and very helpful. Rooms are always clean and very comfortable!! Great location! And has been generous every year when we come there for my husbands bday! And we can't wait to see the new renovations and the new memories we will have for years to come...our relationship started there at the Inn and will continue over the years!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanson6975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your loyalty and wonderful story about how you met your husband here! We are glad to be a part of your happiness and hope you will continue to let us know how we can make your stays more enjoyable when you are with us on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Everything is clean and tidy. Breakfast bar has variety and is very good for the price ;-). They are always accommodating and I have never had a problem with my stay at this hotel. Location is ideal and very scenic which also makes for a pleasant stay. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with kids; you probably want a lakeside room instead of poolside. Poolside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your return visits, and for sharing your comments about us. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a problem free stay and great experience when you are in Duluth. We look forward to serving you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing