We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Duluth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Trip to Duluth”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I went up to Duluth for just one night and we stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior and we loved it. The room was really nice, we had a Queen with bridge view. There was a fridge in the room with 2 bottles of complementary water, we thought that was really nice bonus. We arrived on Saturday at about noon and was able to check in early. I love to work out so I visited the gym Sunday morning and although small it was nice to have available and the machines are in great condition. The room was really nice and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed in many places in Duluth and this is by far our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to earn your business during your recent visit to Duluth, and for sharing your review about us. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and we're really glad to know we have become your hotel of choice when you are in our area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    278
    88
    44
    22
See reviews for
541
373
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I always come to Duluth every chance we get and when we stay we always stay at the Inn! It feels like a second home. Staff has always been friendly and very helpful. Rooms are always clean and very comfortable!! Great location! And has been generous every year when we come there for my husbands bday! And we can't wait to see the new renovations and the new memories we will have for years to come...our relationship started there at the Inn and will continue over the years!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanson6975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your loyalty and wonderful story about how you met your husband here! We are glad to be a part of your happiness and hope you will continue to let us know how we can make your stays more enjoyable when you are with us on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Everything is clean and tidy. Breakfast bar has variety and is very good for the price ;-). They are always accommodating and I have never had a problem with my stay at this hotel. Location is ideal and very scenic which also makes for a pleasant stay. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with kids; you probably want a lakeside room instead of poolside. Poolside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your return visits, and for sharing your comments about us. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a problem free stay and great experience when you are in Duluth. We look forward to serving you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked this room for the Marathon. It was late and most hotels were booked, I called and got a room through the front desk. Picked a "bridge view" instead of "lake" because the finish line is just outside on the street. The hotel offers a free breakfast (make your own waffles, etc.) plus a free coffee machine and smores in the evening! Very family friendly!

Great location for Grandma's Marathon participants. We walked to restaurants, our runner walked to the train in the morning, and we were able to walk out front to see him cross the finish line (plus it was an easy walk back to the hotel for his tired legs!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during Grandma's, and for taking the time to share your experiences here. I hope your runner enjoyed the event, and that you will all be back again, so we can serve you here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the inn. However, I was disappointed in a few things. The staff was not the friendliest, especially at the front desk. Yikes. Not good. The hotel was completely fully of hockey kids. With kids running in the halls through the evening, it doesn't make for a romantic getaway. There were also renovations taking shape and it was interesting having to navigate the hotel in this conditions. Walking through the renovations while they are using machinery was not pleasant. I wish they could have dropped their price quite a bit for those that were inconvenienced. Aside for these issues, the rooms were nice, the view was beautiful and the breakfast was quite large. I don't eat meat in the morning, but was surprised to see the lack of meat options. I am being ridiculously picky. They had a s'mores bar which was nice, it was about -15, so we huddled around the fire and it was an experience. Overall, fairly nice stay. Good sleep and a happy tummy!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Longano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
I'm sorry you were disappointed in us during your recent stay, and offer my sincere apologies. there is never any excuse for rude behavior by anyone on our team,and I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation. I understand how frustrating our remodeling can be at time, and hope you like the results when you visit us next time. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here with our hockey team over the holiday weekend. They were MORE than accommodating to all five teams and their families. Although there was construction going on, they made everything accessible for all of us. Definitely would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodicamp916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review of your recent visit with us. I'm glad you and your team were happy here, and hope you enjoyed your tournament, too. We look forward to serving you the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

No worries here great place to stay, beds are very good, breakfast bar always neat and clean.Pool area neat and clean well kept. great staff. Good discounts from email communications. Evening fun with smores and hot chocolate. Overall this is our place of choice each time we visit Duluth Mn right on the point near good resturants. Good coffee

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us again and sharing your comments. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a "no worries" stay and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing