We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Friendly staff. Comftorable room. Nice perks like s'mores and shuttle for Bentleyville. Outdoor pool was awesome, even in cold weather. Indoor pool and hot tub nice too. Good Night sleep. Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and nice review. I'm glad you were happy with the accommodations and services we provide, and hope you will let us be your favorite hotel in Duluth the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    282
    92
    46
    26
See reviews for
567
385
26
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mora
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I spent 2 days at this Hotel recently, and Loved it!!! Beautiful views of Lake Superior. The staff were extremely pleasant. They offer smores lake side every evening for anyone interested.The Continental breakfast is also good,and hot. If you don't have time to sit and eat, they have to go breakfast bags for their guests. The Hotel is also located next to great shopping boutiques, and a wonderful array of restaurants. Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiechard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and share your comments and 5 star rating. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We'll be happy to serve you again the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've stayed here several times, in all seasons. In Dec. we go to see the Christmas light display at Bentleyville. Frre shuttle offered back and forth. Great full breakfast buffet. S'mores every night. Great location on the lakewalk. Great rates if you can go during the week. Nice pool and rooftop hot tub. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your many visits and for posting your great review and strong positive recommendation. We love having you here and do everything we can to make your time here relaxing and enjoyable. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just got back from staying here over the weekend and this was an amazing trip. The front desk staff is so nice and helpful. The first night we stayed in a city view room. Clean and spacious. The second night we did upgrade to a balcony room. Nice room as well. The only downfall our balcony was really small due to our room configuration. Only two of us could be on the balcony at a time. It was fun listening to the ships and the fog horn. The breakfast was GREAT. Loved the waffles with strawberries and cream. YUMMY!! The breakfast staff were nice and really did a good job. I love how you can get tea, coffee, hot chocolate all day long. The smores were also a fun touch at the end of the day. Also Bentleyville was the coolest Christmas attraction I have ever seen. Overall, I can't wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review and 5 star rating of your experience here. I'm glad you were able to see both the city and lake view rooms, and agree that the balconies are best for two or three people at a time. Bentleyville is a very special place, and we are fortunate that they have made their home here in Duluth. There are many wonderful things to do in our area all year long, and I hope you will come to explore again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My sister and family and my family decided to get away for Thanksgiving this year, and booked Queen adjoining rooms at the Inn On Lake Superior. They weren't cheap ($171 each after taxes) but we decided it would be worth it to have the family together with the adjoining rooms- with young kids it's nice to be able to put them to sleep in one room, and the adults can socialize in the adjoining room.

We traveled over 150 miles , and got there pretty early ~11:30. Was told to give a call on our way in and they'd see if they could have rooms ready for us when we got there. Unfortunately,they weren't able to do that, and advised us to check again at 2:30. At 3:00 we were finally able to check in- but were told there were no more adjoining rooms left.

When we told young woman at the desk we'd been waiting for those rooms all day, she said "sorry, we can't honor room requests". What? We sure weren't told this when we reserved them well in advance, and we weren't told this as we waited for them all day, so we were understandably upset.

Another young woman came out to help us, and she looked over the hotel map for at least 15 minutes before finding us adjoining rooms. So what was that all about? What were they saving those rooms for? Then we waited another 10 minutes to get checked in. So in total we waited over 25 minutes, and with a bunch of young, tired, hungry kids (and adults)- that was not fun.

Although the hotel is situated very conveniently, and is great for the kids with the pool and free breakfast (tho I take issue with their advertised "hot breakfast" -waffles and bisquits/gravy is not my idea of hot breakfast), I'm not sure I trust reserving a room there- I like to know what I'm reserving (ie waterfront, 2 queens w/sofa pull-out, adjoining, etc), and I want to feel confident that the hotel will have that room ready when we check in. Pretty basic.

*Note- I did respond to a auto-email review request from hotel after we got home, but have not been contacted by anybody, an apology would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask front desk if they will honor a specific type room request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbydiva428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am very sorry for the frustrations you and you families encountered during check in on Thanksgiving, and offer my sincere apologies. I believe we have contacted you privately and discussed this further, and were able to make amends. We really don't want our guests to be unhappy at any point during their time with us, and I will use your experience to improve our operation. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to earn your trust the next time you visit Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed here numerous times and absolutely loved it before the policy to allow pets was changed as of 11/12. We are now taking our business elsewhere (and not to their sister property The Edge which they conveniently suggest when you call and ask about their pet policy).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and many past visits. The decision to becoming a non-pet friendly hotel was very difficult, and we are very sorry to see you stay elsewhere. I hope you continue to enjoy you visits to Duluth for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a great place to stay and enjoy all that the area has to offer. Duluth weather changes quickly and it is wise to be prepared and found that to be the case for this trip, however came ready. The hotel offers so many extras that the cost is easily justified. Smores, outdoor and indoor pool and a great breakfast. Bed was comfy and room with a view of the lake was more than pleasing.
We just left the car parked and walked everywhere we needed to go for our two nights in Duluth. Enjoyed the lights of Bentleyville (a event in Bayfront park), watched the ships enter or depart the canal, walked along the lakefront or just sat in the room and watch the ever changing lake.
Wanted to use the pool during the adult hour however it was jammed with kids and parents who seemed OK with teaching their children bad manners. (the only negative)

Room Tip: Lakeside is really the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments. I'm sorry about the bad experience you had during the adults only hour at the pool, and will continue to work on better control of this area during that time. Please accept my apologies, and I hope you will give us another chance to regain your trust the next time you visit Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 33 in Duluth
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing