We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Times The Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“3rd Times The Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at The Inn and it has gotten better with each visit.
The Lakeside King with Sofa and patio #136 was sooo clean!
It was nice to see a clean bathroom floor, even the sides and corners for a change, bliss :).
The couple of drinks in the refrigerator are a nice touch, as are the firepits & S'mores in the evening.
The breakfast is a very nice option and we love the 24 hr coffee, tea & cappuccino.
Yes, the rates here are high to some guests, but you are paying for the location, location, location!
It is not the Ritz, Plaza or Aston.
You are ON Lake Superior, a nice hotel with dozens of shops, restaurants, bars and activities within walking distance!
We will be back and we recommend The Inn to anybody heading to Duluth.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for your return visits, nice review and great recommendation. I'm glad you are happy with the accommodations and service we provide, and that you find value here. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    275
    87
    44
    21
See reviews for
532
371
24
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kasota mn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

we stayed in your family sutie (320) in november. we came north for the parade and bentlyville. this is an annual trip for us. staff as usual was fantastic our stay was great. we stayed with you late october and the room was freshly redone(342) it was beautiful, clean and fresh. we hope you are working your way down the hall to freshen up other rooms. every time we come to duluth we stay at the INN and will do so for many years. love the smores

Room Tip: lake view great, third floor quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for making us a part of your family's traditions, and for your nice comments. Yes, we are in the process of freshening up all our rooms, and I hope you will like the improvements we make during your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Duluth a bit and I have stayed at a few hotels on Canal Park as well as in Duluth city. The Inn has it all. The staff is great. The do s'mores in the evening which I didn't eat but enjoyed the fire pits. The breakfast changed each morning and had plenty of options. It was close to restaurants so we could walk. Perfect! Thanks Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for your recent visit and for sharing your comments about us and our competition. I'm glad you are happiest with us, and look forward to serving your here again the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know. Beds were so comfortable. Breakfast bar was above and beyond any breakfast ever at any hotel I had ever stayed at. Employees were very friendly. Smores were a hit. We watched the ships come in from our window, well, before long next thing you know we are all running out of the room, down the stairs and toward the lift bridge to watch the ship go under the bridge. Very cool experience.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brenda60140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your very first TA review about your stay with us. We really appreciate your recommendation and acknowledgement of jobs well done by our team here. We all hope you will be our guest and let us serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I go with my sisters every year in August from Saturday to Friday. we are have gone every year for of the last 10 years. The Breakfast selection is very good and there is something for everyone. Plus every night they offer s'mores over a fire and on Fridays and Saturdays the have hotdogs and chips. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very accommodating. The hotel is very close to many restaurants they are all within walking distance. The boardwalk is very nice to do morning or evening strolls and the view is outstanding. Your are able to watch the ships come and go.

Room Tip: We always like to ask for a water front room and we also get the suites which are very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you your many visits and nice review and recommendation. I'm glad you and you and your sisters are happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and look forward to seeing and serving you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at The Inn on Lake Superior for our Fall Getaway for the last ten years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are always clean and well kept and the complimentary breakfast is always superb. The staff always greets us warmly with a smile and makes us feel valued as guests. It would be difficult to find a more accommodating hotel. The Inn on Lake Superior is my first choice when travelling to Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for including us in your annual tradition, and for your nice comments. We do love having you here, and look forward to welcoming you back again next fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location, clean rooms and an excellent view of the lake from a lake-side room are a few of the amenities that we were impressed with. We stayed in a room with a king size bed and a sofa. The location was close enough to view a ship coming in from a distance, have time to grab the camera gear and head down to the canal to see the ship come in as well as get some great shots of it. The rooms were comfortable with room to move as well as have room to put our snacks and suitcases. The lake view was enhanced by larger than normal windows that enabled us to see all the way down to the canal. The price matched the amenities. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone interested in a Canal Park stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your recent visit and 5 star rating. I'm glad you were able to see the ships up close and hope you will be our guest again the next time you visit Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing