We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay anywhere else in Duluth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
“Won't stay anywhere else in Duluth”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great service, great room and the s'mores were loved by all. We stayed in a family suite overlooking the lake. When we arrived they asked us if we wanted first or second floor. I said second but wish I would have said first, then we would have been able to walk right from our patio to the lake walk. I loved being able to sit out on the balcony and watch the ships and people in canal park. Service was excellent and the kids (and adults) loved the s'mores every night. This hotel is within walking distance to the aquarium, maritime museum, and vista fleet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for making your first TA review about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your time here, and hope you will get a room on the first floor next time you visit. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    283
    92
    47
    26
See reviews for
573
386
26
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great service...Very clean, comfortable and relaxing room...... The bed and pillows gave me such a good night's sleep I wanted to stay an additional night. We stayed in room 300, a corner room with a great view of the city. During the evening the hotel has fires going outside on the patio, lakeside, with all the fixins for Smore's. It was such a fun experience after a long day of travel. The convience to shopping and sites was perfect. Incredible complimentary breakfast.....as well as coffee, hot chocolate and cappacino's all day.
If I am every in Duluth again, this is where I will stay. Room rate was less than 110.00 on a weekday with no advanced booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemdem8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your comments and 5 star rating. I'm glad enjoyed your room, view and our surrounding area. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again the next time you visit Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

On our drive up the North Shore, we stopped in without a reservation and ended up with a very reasonable price for a King sized room. The price was originally quoted at $189, but quickly reduced to $89 as we arrived so late in the day and the room was available. I wasn't willing to pay the full price as quoted, but at the reduced price it was quite a deal.

We had a "pet friendly" room, but we found it very clean. The room was well-appointed, quiet, large, and mostly up-to-date. The only complaint about the room was that the wifi was spotty in our room. The main areas of the hotel appeared to be a little more dated (pool, lobby, breakfast area), but still clean and acceptable. Breakfast was sufficient for a free breakfast. The Canal Park area of Duluth provides a great view, walking areas, and several restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: "Bridge view" is just that - a view of the top of the bridge (and the surrounding building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCL_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent trip up the North Shore. I'm glad you found value and liked our area. Please consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay. We stayed in the 2 bedroom lake view suite. It was very nice. It had a small fridge, coffee pot and microwave. We always stay here on our visits to Duluth and have always been very satisfied.

The staff was very nice and helpful. It’s a great location right in Canal Park. The have free wi-fi in the rooms. Breakfast is included and the spread they put out is amazing. Scrambled eggs, fried potato’s, bagels, make your own waffle stations, yogurt, juice, etc.

Beds were very comfortable, although pillows were a bit squishy for my taste. We heard no noise from our neighbors. Just spending time in our room looking at our view was an enjoyable part of the vacation.

Room Tip: We love having a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieCat-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. The lake really is special, and being able to relax on your own balcony can be very refreshing and rejuvinating. Conditions change quite quickly sometimes, and that can be equally interesting and enjoyable. I hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We generally stay at the Inn on Lake Superior when we travel to Duluth for more than a few days or when we aren't specifically there to shop. The Canal Park area offers a tremendous variety of things to do both during the day and night and has an excellent selection of restaurants to meet all tastes and budgets.

We stayed at the Inn in April of 2012 overnight while traveling home from a trip to Las Vegas in a lake side room which had an amazing view. Again we were impressed by the small details: upgraded toiletries, comfortable linens and it's incredibly handy to have a fridge and microwave (not that we used them on this trip). The staff was incredibly helpful and I hear they are soon going to release a new website and that the common areas are being renovated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your many visits, and for sharing your experience. You heard correctly, our new website is due up any day now, and the common area renovations are to being in the fall. I look forward to hearing from you again after you see the changes, to let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Last Fall we took a long trip, staying in many hotels across the country.
Few were as nice and well cared for as this, our favorite place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: Love the lakeside balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thanks for including us on the itinerary of your long trip, and for taking the time to post your comments. I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay here and hope you will keep us on your "favorites" list when looking for places to go to next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at The Inn over Memorial Day weekend for a little getaway. The front desk was always extremely helpful and friendly. Our smoke detector battery was dying and they were there to replace it within 2 minutes of the call, I swear! The weather wasn't perfect, but we didn't even notice. We actually loved watching the wind, rain, fog and huge waves crashing the rocks from our balcony. You could see when a big ship was approaching and make it outside and to the canal in plenty of time to watch the bridge lift. We had the King room and it was more than enough to accomodate us and our toddler. We were suprised by the complimentary drinks provided in the mini fridge. I travel frequently for work and normally items like that are overpriced incidentals. Everything downtown is so close and within walking distance. Our 2 year old LOVED the pool area, the hot chocolate all day, and especially the s'mores at night. I would say one highlight for us was the live music every night. I can't get his songs out of my head! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: If you're staying here, its worth the extra to get a lakeview room. They all have balconies or p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamAldrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to make your first review on TripAdvisor about your visit here. One of the benefits of Duluth's changing and not always perfect weather is the effect it can have on the lake. It's easy to loose track of time watching it's ever changing look. I hope you and your family will be back to enjoy everything Duluth has to offer again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing