We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dogs are Special at the INN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Marais
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dogs are Special at the INN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you love your dog then you'll love the Inn. They treat your pet like the special part of your family it is. A gift bag for your barking buddy includes a bandana, milk bones and a special bowl; what a treat to the normal squint eyed look you receive at most hotels when you have a dog along.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with great pillows for a good night's rest. The hotel is conveniently located right on the lake next to the walking path and in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We were pleasantly surprised with the quiet room even though it was overlooking the balcony, very soundproof.

This is a great hotel when you want to stay in Canal Park with your pet. And for those eco-conscious guests they have recycling bins in their rooms. You can't beat that!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddling_hiking_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Than you for taking the time to write and share comments about your recent stay with us. We are so lucky to have met so many nice people because we welcome pets here. Or is it the other way around. Or both!? Regardless, we want everyone to have a good time here and really appreciate the positive recognition of jobs well done. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    263
    81
    40
    20
See reviews for
507
354
22
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We met family here for the weekend and we brought our doggie. Yes there is the 25.00 pet fee per night, who cares--I get why they charge it and it's well worth it. They have most pet families staying on the second floor. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, very spacious. Pay the extra to have a lake view as you get a balcony and if it's nice, you can have the door open while you're in the room and you doggies can go out on the balcony and watch the passerby's on the boardwalk. The staff were very accomdating and when you check in w/a pet you get a doggie welcome pack w/a water bowl, doggie waste bags, a treat, and cute little bandana. A very nice, wecloming touch. Going forward, this is the ONLY place we will stay with our dog in Duluth. Great rooms, great service, it was an all around family friendly and pet friendly hotel. Great amenities too--free water and pop in your room, nightly smores, rooftop hot tub, etc. Great place!!

Room Tip: If you are bringing a pet--ask for a lakeview room so you get a balcony and ask to stay near the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bookersclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent visit and nice review. We love pets (ours and our guests') and believe we humans are the lucky ones because they tolerate us! We want to make sure that time spent here is enjoyable for everyone, regardless of how many legs they have. I'm glad you will be back and look forward to serving you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This past week we stopped at the Inn on the Lake to overnight before driving back to St. Paul.
The location is in the popular Canal Park area, right on Lake Superior and walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
The front desk person was friendly and helpful even though she was the only one handling walk ins and the phone. She gave us options of the specials and was very patient as we decided.
The Inn always has fresh coffee and offers S'mores over a fire every night. These are nice extras that make staying there worthwhile.
Breakfast was good and offered some options.
The pool area is handy and clean. My child spent a good deal of time swimming and we read during that time.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony over Lake Superior especially during shipping season. Its fun to watch the ships c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really appreciate your loyalty and recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Inn is down in Canal Park area which is convenient to lots of touristy shops, bars and places to eat. Most you can walk to although one of my favorite spots is Fitgers and we did drive to that. It is a bit like Cancun where hotels are stacked up all along the beach (not quite the Tropical temps ) and there are plenty of pets running up and down the boardwalk as well so if you are looking for a bit of privacy to enjoy Lake Superior this may not be the best choice. As I said it is kid and dog friendly. They have an indoor pool, one on the roof top and smores by the fire each night facing the lake. They also have a decent work out area on the second level.
Breakfast was quite crowded with the make them yourself waffles being the most popular. A good selection for kids of cereal and bagels as well as yogurt and donuts. In your room we had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker so great to bring a tray back and sit on your balcony if the temperature allows. It stays 10 degrees cooler off the lake so even if it says 51 it was chilly and foggy.
Beds were comfortable enough but made creaking noises when you moved about. No noise issues even though the hotel was at capacity. We were there for a hockey event so nice and close to Amsoil arena and again very nice to walk to most places.

Room Tip: Facing the lake for great views and people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay here. I love the Cancun comparison, and the fact that temps are not always tropical in Duluth. I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our great experience started when I called for reservations. Olivia was very pleasant and very helpful. Our room was excellent. It was a king bed with a sofa pullout with a lake view. It was on the 1st floor at the very end of the Inn. Our view of the lake was great, even on the 1st floor. Our room had 4, yes 4, large windows and 2 large flat screen televisions. The room was very clean. I was surprised how quiet our room was - I heard NOTHING except occasional outside voices during daylight hours, no neighbor or hallway sound at all.

The bathroom and counter/sink area separated the bed area from the living area. The free bath products/soap smelled wonderful. As we were checking for belongings when we were leaving, I opened the fridge (which we didn't use) and saw pop and water!

The breakfast area was quiet when we got coffee to take back to our room to watch the sunrise from our private patio. AWESOME. The weather was fabulous 3/9 & 3/10. The breakfast was very good, so many choices. We are already planning another trip and will certainly stay at the Inn. Next time we would like to try the 3rd floor to compare. Totally A+ from start to finish.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Donna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent visit and very nice review and recommendation. It makes us feel very special to know that we are the reason for your very first review on TripAdvisor. Olivia is terrific, and inspires all of us to do our best every day - I will make sure she gets the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. Since Northfiled isn't too far from Duluth, I hope you will make the trip and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Inn on the Lake lived up to it's billing...the staff are most helpful...breakfast was better than most..very dog friendly...lots of dining and shopping near by...lovely location on the shipping canal.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thanks so much for adding your comments and rating to our listing. Edmondton is a beautiful city, and we hope you have safe travels between here and there. Please let us know when you will be our guest again so we can welcome you back in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Overall was nice. Nice rooms. Nice service. Nice breakfast. Enjoyed the evening smores and the pool on the roof (even though it was only 15 above). Our first room was poolside and the chlorine was too strong, but they were very accomodating and let us change rooms. Our room was hot and the heater was loud, woke me a few times during the night. We had a coupon for 79/night that they wouldn't honor and we don't understand why as when we booked the room we told them we had the coupon. Was 84/night and with a line behind us we let it go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gransm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
I am very sorry for the confusion about your coupon, and will try to make it right if you will contact us privately. Thank you for your visit and nice review. I apologize for the noisy heater, and am glad you were able to enjoy the roof top pool and other amenities during your visit. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing