We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"The Inn on Lake Superior is wonderful!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prescott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The Inn on Lake Superior is wonderful!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We love the atmosphere and the accomodations of this hotel. We have stayed 2x and plan to come back again - with children and grandchilden hopefully! The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, the building is beautiful and yet gives a relaxed, peaceful feeling.
In the evening, we were able to do "S'mores" around a campfire on the lakefront (and my family was able to do join us at no extra charge!). The breakfast in the morning is very good too. The "vibe" is just fantastic and the main reason we enjoy staying there. I feel it has the best to offer from all of the other hotels in the Canal Park area of Duluth MN and I am originally from that area and can remember when Canal Park had little to offer.
Watched it grow and decided this is the place to stay when I want a night on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I'm so glad you and your family were able to spend time together here - thanks for taking the time to write and post your review. Canal Park sure has changed over the years, and the improvements in dining, shopping and attractions are meant to compliment the wonderful Lakewalk boardwalk, Duluth Entry Shipping Canal piers, the Ariel Bridge and our great Lake Superior. We will be pleased to serve you and your family for many years to come, whenever you decide you need another night on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    267
    82
    40
    20
See reviews for
513
356
22
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

As someone already mentioned, do NOT fall for the "bridge view" rooms. Yes, you'll see the bridge....but not the boats going under it! Mostly, you see the parking lot. Our room (#311) was not ready when we checked in and we were told #211 was "exactly the same".....well, we found that was except for the fact that there was a brick wall in front of the terrace so if you sat down.....you could only see brick wall. So we paid for a terrace we never used!
Breakfast was also a disappointment. They totally ran out of the hot items (eggs) and there was little other protein to choose from. We returned home to find their on-line survey, which we responded to but have not received a reply. The only communication we've gotten is a new on-line ad to return. HA! That won't be happening!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I am terribly sorry you were so disappointed with your stay here. We are revising our room description of the bridgeview rooms to be specific that they are not ship, canal, lake or harbor view rooms, and hopefully avoid disappointing more guests. We thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize, too, for running out of eggs at breakfast, and will use your experience to improve our product and service. I do hope you were able to enjoy other aspects of your visit to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Unfortunately our stay was only for one night and it was our first time at the Inn on Lake Superior. We loved it! The s'mores in the evening was a big hit for the 2-1/2 yr. old. Could not have asked for a better breakfast buffet. And complimentary at that!! Our room was clean and spacious. Absolutely no noise in the hallways so nothing disturbed our sleep. The next time we pass through Duluth we will make certain we stay longer than one night and will stay at the Inn on Lake Superior once again. Thank you!

Room Tip: We went online to reserve our room and all the available rooms were listed along with the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks so much for choosing us and then posting your comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves here and want to return. There is so much to do in Duluth, any time of year, so let us know when you will be back and we will make sure you have a great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have been coming to The Inn On Lake Superior since it opened in 1996, except one year where we tried out the Canal Park Lodge. The Inn is still great and seems to have improved in the year absence.

The rooms were clean (2 room suite) and the areas are spacious. Our room was off from the main breakfast area which helped keep the volume down so we could enjoy the view in peace. The balcony's offer a great view of the Lake, something the Park Lodge doesn't have as they are angled away from the lake.

My only complaints, which are very small except the last one:
1) The room below us: 12-1AM, they are out drinking beer and eating food being loud and obnoxious right outside their patio area. I wish something was done, but there wasn't much that could be done.
2) My bed was a little bit creaky and made quite a bit of noise, maybe an upgrade on some beds? If Kenneth reads this, it's just a suggestion.
3) This is the big one. We have been coming up to The Inn since it has opened, coming up every August. It would be nice if there was a system in place that noted those who have been loyal for so many years.

I have so many memories here in Canal Park and the Inn is part of that. I enjoyed this stay. I have grown up coming to the Inn and I would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait for August 2012 for the next stay at The Inn on Lake Superior!

Room Tip: Room 322 is where it is at. The room is absolutely excellent and the view is great. Clean and spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

On our first trip to this area, we spent a couple nights here and really enjoyed it. Our 3rd floor lakeview room included not only a lake view but a balcony, fridge and coffeemaker. While the room seemed fairly standard, it was large and had a few nice touches including a great view, rain shower head, quality personal products, and complimentary water and soda on arrival. The room rate also includes a decent breakfast and nightly s'mores on the lakefront . The hotel is located right on the bike path and boardwalk. I would definitely recommend spending the few extra dollars for the lakeview room. The hotel also has both an indoor pool and an outdoor heated rooftop pool (the rooftop is fairly small). Being August, there were quite a few families at the hotel and we agreed that this would be a great place to take the grandkids for a short getaway. We noted that some families had opted for the lakefront rooms on the first floor and turned the lawn right outside their rooms into a "recreation area" complete with lawn chairs, lawn games, etc. We chose to dine outside the Canal Park area for quality food but if you are with kids, the immediate area has everything you need to keep them happily occupied for a few days. You are also within easy driving distance of Gooseberry Falls State Park and Split Rock LIghthouse Park for a diversionary daytrip. We enjoyed this hotel as a couple but if you are not fond of kids and families, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Spring for the lakeview. If with kids, book the first floor for the lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, Mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The In on Lake Superior is a hidden gem. The hotel is right on Lake Superior, the staff is great and the evening Smors are a perfect tough.. Go there once and you will return several more times.

Along with Canal Park and Lage Cargo Ships coming and going you will never be bored.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks for your many visits, and for sharing your comments. I like the hidden gem reference, it makes me smile, thanks. We look forward to serving you again here, let us know when you will be back and we will thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior many times and have come to expect the level of professional and caring attention offered each and every time. The atmosphere is great, the breakfast is the best I have had at any hotel and don't forget about the smores around the campfire every night. Clean and comfortable rooms and really, nothing bad I can say. Thanks to all at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing