We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 YEARS AND IT'S STILL GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have been coming to The Inn On Lake Superior since it opened in 1996, except one year where we tried out the Canal Park Lodge. The Inn is still great and seems to have improved in the year absence.

The rooms were clean (2 room suite) and the areas are spacious. Our room was off from the main breakfast area which helped keep the volume down so we could enjoy the view in peace. The balcony's offer a great view of the Lake, something the Park Lodge doesn't have as they are angled away from the lake.

My only complaints, which are very small except the last one:
1) The room below us: 12-1AM, they are out drinking beer and eating food being loud and obnoxious right outside their patio area. I wish something was done, but there wasn't much that could be done.
2) My bed was a little bit creaky and made quite a bit of noise, maybe an upgrade on some beds? If Kenneth reads this, it's just a suggestion.
3) This is the big one. We have been coming up to The Inn since it has opened, coming up every August. It would be nice if there was a system in place that noted those who have been loyal for so many years.

I have so many memories here in Canal Park and the Inn is part of that. I enjoyed this stay. I have grown up coming to the Inn and I would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait for August 2012 for the next stay at The Inn on Lake Superior!

Room Tip: Room 322 is where it is at. The room is absolutely excellent and the view is great. Clean and spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

On our first trip to this area, we spent a couple nights here and really enjoyed it. Our 3rd floor lakeview room included not only a lake view but a balcony, fridge and coffeemaker. While the room seemed fairly standard, it was large and had a few nice touches including a great view, rain shower head, quality personal products, and complimentary water and soda on arrival. The room rate also includes a decent breakfast and nightly s'mores on the lakefront . The hotel is located right on the bike path and boardwalk. I would definitely recommend spending the few extra dollars for the lakeview room. The hotel also has both an indoor pool and an outdoor heated rooftop pool (the rooftop is fairly small). Being August, there were quite a few families at the hotel and we agreed that this would be a great place to take the grandkids for a short getaway. We noted that some families had opted for the lakefront rooms on the first floor and turned the lawn right outside their rooms into a "recreation area" complete with lawn chairs, lawn games, etc. We chose to dine outside the Canal Park area for quality food but if you are with kids, the immediate area has everything you need to keep them happily occupied for a few days. You are also within easy driving distance of Gooseberry Falls State Park and Split Rock LIghthouse Park for a diversionary daytrip. We enjoyed this hotel as a couple but if you are not fond of kids and families, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Spring for the lakeview. If with kids, book the first floor for the lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The In on Lake Superior is a hidden gem. The hotel is right on Lake Superior, the staff is great and the evening Smors are a perfect tough.. Go there once and you will return several more times.

Along with Canal Park and Lage Cargo Ships coming and going you will never be bored.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thanks for your many visits, and for sharing your comments. I like the hidden gem reference, it makes me smile, thanks. We look forward to serving you again here, let us know when you will be back and we will thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior many times and have come to expect the level of professional and caring attention offered each and every time. The atmosphere is great, the breakfast is the best I have had at any hotel and don't forget about the smores around the campfire every night. Clean and comfortable rooms and really, nothing bad I can say. Thanks to all at the Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel was fine--decent room that was much larger than average, and the staff were friendly and efficient, Breakfast was fine--nice choice of hot and cold items, and the walk along the lake and canal is very nice. BUT, we paid a big premium ($225 for the night including taxes) for a "bridge view" room.We mistakenly assumed that anything with a "bridge view" would also have a view of the harbour, lake or canal...WRONG! The view is actually of the parking lot, with much of the bridge, but none of the surroundings, visable above the trees and buildings between the hotel and the bridge. If we had to do it again, we would either have booked a lakeview elsewhere, or perhaps opted to save a hundred bucks or so by booking a non-lakview at one of the adjoining properties, which don't charge extra for the view over the parking lot to the bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at The Inn for a long weekend for my daughter's birthday. The room was very clean and the staff was professional as well as pleasant. In the evening they had music and s'mores which helped wind down the day and made the stay that much more enjoyable. The view was gorgeous as we had a lake side room. Balcony was a nice retreat as well. We really enjoyed the fact that we did not have to drive in Canal Park as everything was in walking distance. The whole family enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K-Lo123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thanks so much for you nice comments about your experience here. We're really glad you and your family had a good time and look forward to the next time we can be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I were in town for 4 nights for a conference. Quite simply, we liked everything about The Inn on Lake Superior. Our clean, large room on the 3rd floor overlooked the lake and had a private balcony. It was neat to see the lake change its character according to the weather. Great view of the ships!

The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The multi-function showerhead was great, and we liked the unique brand of bodywash, shampoo, etc. The hotel staff was friendly, from the maids to the front desk staff. Breakfasts were outstanding, and varied by the day... waffles, french toast, huevos rancheros, sausage, cereal, fruit, etc. Breakfast was served from 6-10. The coffee and cappucino machines ran 24/7. At 8pm, bonfires were turned on on the back patio, and free smores were available for roasting. Everyone was enjoying the smores! On Friday night, there was entertainment out there.

The location is next to the bike path and pedestrian boardwalk, which provides easy access to miles of lakeshore. We rented bikes one day and rode the length of Minnesota Point. We thought we'd charged the bikes to the room, but upon checkout learned that the rental was free. One last thing we liked was that the sodas and water in the room fridge were complimentary. So was the parking. We will definitely stay here EVERY time we are in Duluth!

Room Tip: If you can afford it
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank JayPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thanks for your fantastic review! We have rain here today and the lake has again changed its character, and people are still on the lake and boardwalk, enjoying all we have to offer. We're happy to know you will be our guest again on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#9 of 31 in Duluth
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $102 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing