We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhurried, casual dining with regional offerings”
Review of Tycoons - CLOSED

Tycoons
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unhurried, casual dining with regional offerings”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Duluth is a summer tourist town -- people flock to Canal Park to watch ships entering the port through the ship canal. If you decide to eat there, you get pretty much run-of-the mill burgers, fries, faux-Mexican, or other sandwich type food. If something beyond that interests you, try Tycoons. It is a restaurant with full service bar without the crowded hustle of other places. The location is an historic city hall building, carefully renovated by its owners. There is even a speak-easy in the basement. Local jazz or folk performers are booked for various night-time gigs, but if you don't like talking over music, a large part of the dining room is across the hallway from the bar. The food shows Duluth's heritage -- mussels in wine sauce (for the tycoons) and great burgers or pastas for the rest of us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beyond amazing food, drinks, atmosphere, and service...what else could you want?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had not planned on eating here, but our initial choice was serving brunch. We were having an adult lunch with beverages. I was able to find an option on the menu almost immediately. I got the hand-battered fish and it was to die for! My husband had the burger and swears it was the best burger he's ever had. We took a small tour of the upstairs after our meal and the private rooms available for parties our meetings are absolutely amazing! This place is a must do for food, drinks, our private events. What a gem for Duluth! We are so jealous we don't have something like this in our area. We will definitely be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DezinerDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vintage Atmosphere & Excellent Food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place has a wonderful old look and feel. The food was very good. It's a bit more upscale but not overly much. Another quality choice restaurant for Duluth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, WI
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Took a business client to lunch and was astounded at the small check. Lovely atmosphere. Also did a business meeting upstairs recently. The only complaint I'd have is parking. The casino ramp was filled with scary characters, smoking on the elevator, and arrests going on at 8 a.m. next to Tycoons, from The Last Place on Earth weirdo shop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VSRubato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Went there with a party of 6 adults & 2 kids. All of the adults food looked, tasted awesome & had large portions.
Service was awesome!
Food was reasonable priced!!
Served the local Fitgers beer which is always good.
PS- if you get a chance check out Rathskeller on -1 floor. Its pretty cool!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing