We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Duluth Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Duluth Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a late change of plans and decided to visit Duluth to see Lake Superior. I think we made a good choice staying out of town as it was generally quieter. The hotel is beside an interstate but double windows meant that noise wasn't an issue. The hotel isn't as up to date as some but it was more than adequate for us. There is a short drive to get downtown and to a larger variety of restaurants. McDonalds and Subway were within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank amandajayne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    98
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
119
88
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our stay was quick...just one night. The room was ok for the price, but more run down than I expected. I expected it to be a little nicer after reading other reviews. The location is right off the highway, so you can hear the traffic through the night. The breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast, and the kids liked it. We really didn't spend any time at the hotel except to sleep and eat breakfast before leaving, so for that, it was worth it. The front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Request room in back of hotel due to highway traffic noise. Odor upon entering room so we opened windows for fresh air. AC worked well and the unit fan could be left on all night to help with traffic noise. Visible spots on the carpet should be cleaned. Nice plus that the pool and hot tub are open til midnight. Breakfast items include oatmeal, cold cereal, apples/oranges, breads, eggs and potatos. Breakfast area was not cleaned during the time we were eating. Several items were not refilled. Hopefully, they address that issue. Overall, stay was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel included everything you could want for a very good price! It is very close to the city of Duluth. This hotel is spotted right from the Hwy, yet we did not encounter noise issues from cars passing by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Duluth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel was adequate and easily accessible. Yes, I would stay here again and would recommend staying. Anything special .. no. But definitely not scary. The housekeeping staff was not the best. The counter tops were sticky as was the door to bathroom when we arrived.. They skipped our room one day because we weren't out "early enough" ... 10:30 a.m.??? But it was a pleasant stay and stuff happens. It is outside of Duluth proper which made it a better price and Duluth was just 10 minutes away, so very convenient to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Price is fair (Duluth area is often higher than other parts of the state) I paid $130 for a King suite. Room was clean and very spacious. It had the split room setup as with most (true) suites, two flat screens. Living room had a couch, chair, tables, office area. View is limited of Lake Superior. It is located away from the city on the very edge so not a lot of restaurants in walking range. Great variety at breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff. I think this is the perfect hotel for a business traveler or short stay. If you are on a family trip and want to enjoy Duluth and the lake you may want to stay in the many hotels on the lake (more money but much more entertainment within walking distance).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplemania56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bulldog7410,

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. We strive each and every day to provide our guests with superior customer care. Your comments will help us to continue providing above and beyond service for all of our guests.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good
* Spacious room (suite)
* Comfortable bed with non-bouncy style mattress
* Mini-fridge with interior light
* Large closet
* Desk light fixtures with power outlets
* Breakfast had better than average oatmeal selection

Average
* Furnishings were not outdated
* Pretty common breakfast options including: waffles, cereal, yogurt, muffins, fruit, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, eggs
* Bathroom featured standard tub/shower and good steam ventilation and sink countertop was large enough to accommodate toiletries for my wife and me
* Two TVs that seemed small for the room size (~27" LCD)
* In room microwave and coffee maker

Could Be Better:
* Noisy
* Poor sound dampening for an already noisy location next door to gas station.
* You could easily hear the doors from nearby rooms

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanHasCheeseburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#13 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
7.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Duluth, MN are close to great destinations, but our Duluth hotel has guests nestled minutes from the excitement of Spirit Mountain Ski Area and Adventure Park. Whether you're here for recreation at Canal Park or an event at Amsoil Arena DECC, staying at the right Proctor hotel can make all the difference. Our location and proximity to Spirit Mountain, downtown Duluth, Canal Park and many outdoor activities makes us a favorite. Our free, hot deluxe breakfast ensures you're ready to take on any adventure. Of course, no stay is complete without excellent customer service and cleanliness, as well as high-speed Internet, a business center, well-equipped fitness center and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing