We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had a wonderful time. While the weather was terrible, the comfortable stay at the Best Western PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth was very relaxing. In addition to the spacious room, the hotel offered an excellent breakfast selection. Well worth the money. Also, the hotel is locate very close to all the various local attractions of our port city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    119
    50
    19
    8
See reviews for
160
106
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hotel Was kept up pretty Nice and relatively updated. To me the beds were uncomfortable and the pillows way to soft. Other than that i would stay here again as it was a great value especially since the wedding reception was at Spirit Mountain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smit4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff was also very nice and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel if you wanna relax and rest after a day of shopping or visiting Duluth. The pool and hot tub are great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxime T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Maxime T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Deanna Greogrich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here after our wedding ceremony/reception and not only did I request for a room away from my family (which my mother was next door) but my earings I received from my grandfather.who passed got stolen. We left the room and one of the staff members went in and they went.missing. not only did I got treated like it was nothing, but after filling out an incident report I heard nothing from a manager even after I called and left a message!!!!
I am so disappointed in stay here. The staff act like customers are not important and I will never stay here again
Along with my family members.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSDuluth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Aimee H,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

This hotel holds our staff to extremely high standards and take great pride in their hard work and honesty. It is extremely unusual that anything left behind in a guest room doesn't find its way safely to our lost and found. After you had checked out of the hotel and called to alert our staff to the items that may have been left behind, the room was thoroughly searched. We found your bracelet in bathroom and even searched the plumbing in the bathroom sink to try to locate your ear rings. We extended our search beyond your room to the laundry facilities searching all linen, washers and dryers, but unfortunately the ear rings were not found.

I offer my sincere apologies that all of your concerns were not addressed to your satisfaction. I have tried to contact you and would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns further.

Sincerely,
Deanna Gregorich, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great location for a weekend trip to Spirit Mountain. Helpful staff. They accommodated our request for adjoining rooms and allowed us to use breakfast area for dinner that we ordered in. Decent décor, Negatives (a) not a huge deal, but real cheap looking closet door distracts from otherwise nice room, (b) sticky substance on arm of one room chair and tack on the floor, (c) pool area was way, way too warm (OK if you were in the pool, but miserable to sit in the area to watch the kids), We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyinMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We made a quick three day weekend to ski Spirit and stayed at the Best Western. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We were able to get $17 - 5 hour passes from the hotel on friday and on saturday there is a deal for families - buy two tickets at regular price and get discount on second 2 so it was only $100 for 5 hours for 4 of us. This is better than the prices around Minneapolis. Breakfast was standard - a few warm proteins, cereal, waffles, toast, etc. Very clean and the staff from the front desk pitched in to keep things going when it got really busy - not sure I have ever seen that type of team work at hotel before. Room was clean - average size for 4 of us but we fit with all ski equipment. We are planning on making this a regular occurance as easy drive up from cities. Hotel is literallyj ust down the hill from Spirit so very easy to get to and from. Swimming pool clean - hot tub very hot - felt good after skiing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaRae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were really happy with this hotel. We were on the first floor, next to the front desk and near the pool. We found our room to be very clean and quiet. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic! There was make your own waffles, and hot items that rotated (while we were there we had make your own omelettes and breakfast potatoes one morning and scrambled eggs, sausage links and biscuits and gravy the next). We were also fans of the chocolate cookies served at the front desk too! The pool and hot tub area was very nice, however during our stay, there were a lot of teenagers in town for a robotics competition and they pretty much took over the area. We tried swimming our first night and were constantly hit with balls and were splashed constantly by teens cannon-balling into the pool and hot tub. I wish the staff would have been able to control this behavior, but I understand that their hands are tied. We had no problems with the internet and used it quite a bit. Although this is in the Spirit Mountain Area, it was a short drive into downtown Duluth and Canal Park. We would stay here again in an instant, the hotel was clean, quiet, the staff was very nice when we came into contact with them. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
7.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#12 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
7.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Address: 9330 W Skyline Parkway, Duluth, MN 55811 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Duluth, MN are close to great destinations, but our Duluth hotel has guests nestled minutes from the excitement of Spirit Mountain Ski Area and Adventure Park. Whether you're here for recreation at Canal Park or an event at Amsoil Arena DECC, staying at the right Proctor hotel can make all the difference. Our location and proximity to Spirit Mountain, downtown Duluth, Canal Park and many outdoor activities makes us a favorite. Our free, hot deluxe breakfast ensures you're ready to take on any adventure. Of course, no stay is complete without excellent customer service and cleanliness, as well as high-speed Internet, a business center, well-equipped fitness center and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing