We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointed with our visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a busy day and when we checked in we were told the hot tub was out of order. We asked for an upgrade and they said they could not, due to the way we booked this room online. We would have paid more and they could not figure it out. The pool was very cold. The breakfast was the best part. We probably will book elsewhere for our next Duluth trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    136
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
190
115
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We like staying at Country Inn and Suite properties whenever we travel. I was able to accompany my husband on a business trip lately, so we stayed at their hotel in S. Duluth (actually in the suburb of Proctor). The company has a special room rate; thus the price designation. This hotel was nowhere near as nice as some we've stayed at (the one in Schaumburg, Illinois, is outstanding!), but was quiet and comfortable. They offered wireless internet, in-room coffee, and a bed that was very comfortable. I did not have the breakfast, but my husband was disappointed in the offerings: he said the scrambled eggs were most likely from a powdered mix, and the biscuits and gravy looked unappetizing. The nice young lady at the desk searched out and printed directions to a coffee shop she knew, which we did try and found quite good. I don't know if I'd pay regular prices to stay at this property. Oh - one disappointment was that the pool was closed for maintenance the afternoon and evening we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musiclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good value nice large rooms and a friendly staff at this location. The only draw back is the noisy train on one side and the freeway on the other. Keep your fan running and you can't hear the noise in the room very much. Breakfast is good and it has easy access from the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed one evening with my Son and found very basic accomodations for luxury prices.
The staff was charming, but the facilities look a bit tired. The room was very basic.
If we were not so tired and needed to rest from out roadtrip, I would have requested a refund and traveled on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan48101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a nice, clean, quiet hotel. The hotel was filled to capacity but in my room, you wouldn't know it. It was quiet and very comfortable. A bit of a drive into Duluth, but nothing outrageous or inconvenient. There are lots of activities nearby and the hotel staff were great. No complaints from me and I will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmortenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our family of four, plus a little dog, enjoyed our stay. Excellent, friendly service. The young man who checked us in was very helpful. Comfortable room. Quiet location, trains that run behind the hotel didn't really bother us. Nice breakfast that was well maintained and clean. Extremely convenient to ski resort. Nice pool area and a hot tub that was actually hot. Would stay again in a heartbeat. It was so nice to have a dog friendly room available in a well maintained hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are reserved for those traveling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbonmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Cast of Characters:
Me (wife/mom): 32
Hubby: 31
Son 1: 3
Son 2: 7 months

We <3 staying at this hotel and stay here at least once a year. We stayed at the beginning of December to partake in the Polar Express at the North Shore Railroad Museum. This is such a nice, homey hotel. Check in was a breeze and the chocolate chip cookies are oh so good at the front desk :D

When we booked a room, we went with a double bed room even though we usually book a whirlpool tub room. Closer to our trip, though, I decided it would be fun to book the whirlpool tub room and called to see if it was possible to get one. The staff I talked to was friendly and told me we were able to book the whirlpool room AND get it at the double room rate!!! We were so excited.

The rooms at this hotel are always super clean and the whirlpool tub rooms have a fridge and microwave in the room as well.

The continental breakfasts at this hotel are GREAT. Waffles, cereal, coffee, juice, rolls, fruit and now a couple of other hot items like eggs, biscuts and gravy, etc.

The staff members at the hotel are first rate! Always super friendly and willing to help out with anything you might need.

If you're looking to stay in a nice hotel near Duluth without paying the prices of the Canal Park area, I HIGHLY recommend Country Inn & Suites Duluth South!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruskor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
391 reviews
7.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth

Property: Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
Address: 9330 W Skyline Pkwy, Duluth, MN 55810-2034 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Duluth South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Duluth, MN are close to great destinations, but our Duluth hotel has guests nestled minutes from the excitement of Spirit Mountain Ski Area and Adventure Park. Whether you're here for recreation at Canal Park or an event at Amsoil Arena DECC, staying at the right Proctor hotel can make all the difference. Our location and proximity to Spirit Mountain, downtown Duluth, Canal Park and many outdoor activities makes us a favorite. Our free, hot deluxe breakfast ensures you're ready to take on any adventure. Of course, no stay is complete without excellent customer service and cleanliness, as well as high-speed Internet, a business center, well-equipped fitness center and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth South
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Proctor
Proctor Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing