We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Xmas Shopping Trip' 13” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Duluth
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas Shopping Trip' 13”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

First off, I want to say, I have worked in the hotel industry for about 5 years, both front desk and housekeeping. Anywhere I stay; I always enter a room and strip everything, from the bathroom to the beds. (Always gotta keep an eye out for bedbugs!!) I checked the mattress/box spring, underneath it, behind it. I checked behind the dressers and nightstand, in and out. The bedding and linens were clean, no hair/stains. Beds were newer and weren't sagging or stained. The carpeting needs to be replaced by the heater however, as there were visible waterstains.

Also, I like the fact that there were security guards present during the night, I seen them doing their rounds, while I was outside smoking. Sure, this hotel is basic, but it was clean, and for $65.00 a night for 3 adults, who cares there isn't a pool or breakfast. I had no run-ins with any sketchy people, nor did I hear anyone at night; even when I came back from the casino around 2:30am. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel staff were pleasant, even at 2:30am, when I was asking for extra towels and blankets. I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VQueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    40
    19
    42
See reviews for
30
37
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iron River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A sign informing you that the hotel regularly shares their guest list with the Duluth Police Department welcomes you at this West Duluth, pet friendly Motel 6. I'm not sure if that's supposed to make you feel safe or not. Needless to say, we weren't impressed. Check-in took extra long but we were told multiple times that's because management doesn't staff the desk with enough people. There was literally a line about 8 people deep when we checked in. There also seemed to be issues with rooms being clean/check-in was taking extra long because he didn't know if the rooms were ready or not. The hotel is in serious need of updates. But, given it was fall peak and one of the few places available that took dogs, we were willing to overlook the lackluster amenities for our $100 plus stay. However, it just kept getting worse. Once inside our room, we discovered that wifi was $2.99 per night. A crappy corporate policy that makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. When my husband went to take a quick shower before dinner, we discovered the showerhead was broken. That night... as temperatures dipped into the mid 30s, we learned our heater was broken. The mattress was horribly uncomfortable but I'd somewhat expect that in a cheap hotel. The only upside was that when we asked for an extra pillow, the staff provided two. The other benefit is no free breakfast which justifies eating at the Duluth Grill, which is within spitting distance of the hotel. When we checked out, we mentioned the issues... the front desk staff clearly didn't care. They wrote nothing down, asked no questions, and sort of did the nod and yeah sure we'll get on that. My husband suggested they not check the room out again and well, the smirk on his face said the room would be rented out again well before it was fixed. I'm all about a good deal but when a chain gets so many things wrong and still charges $100+, well I'm less than impressed. I shared my experience afterwards via a survey and their response was even worse. They clearly just don't care about the customer experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthernWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Northern Wisconsin,
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for your unpleasant stay you and the poor guest service you encountered, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

So if you are looking for no frills but inexpensive and good location this is an ok place. For some reason Duluth was booked solid (uless you wanted to pay over $200 per night) except for this, but it was fine. All I really need is clean and safe which it was. It also has a good location off the freeway, good reasonably priced food next door, inexpensive gas station also next door. For $2 more I even had a refrigerator for my beer and pop, something I could not get in a $500 room in Manhattan. Don't get me wrong, this is not the taj. But it was ok, and given the family emergency I was in town for, more than met the needs. Course it helps that my expections were already pretty low.

Room Tip: spend the extra $2 to get a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Horrible staff, dirty and extremely outdated facility. Only had smoking rooms which was disgusting. A horrible spot to stay in for Duluth. Beds were old and the sheets and comforters were stained. No amenities whatsoever. Even the wifi was 2.99 per night. Expensive for such a horrible stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Kaiden W
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness and service conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I made a three-day reservation through Orbitz, but my buddy had also made reservations for another hotel for Friday night. I cancelled the reservation through Orbitz, but then made a single day reservation to cover Saturday only. On Saturday morning, a room became available at the hotel we were staying at, so we drove to the Motel 6 to cancel in-person. Done. But, wait - they charged me anyway! No proof, so I got stuck with the credit card charge.

Not happy! ...Mac

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mac,
Our sincerest apologies for your cancellation charges. Please contact our guest relations department and give them your Orbitz confirmation number and they should be able to help you get a refund. 1-800-577-3435
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very convenient location on the trip north and next to an excellent diner, The Duluth Grill, which serves local, organic food.
Our room was clean enough, and we had no complaints about the service, but this is a pretty bare bones operation, even by Motel 6 standards. However, it is SO easy to turn off the expressway, spend the night and have an excellent breakfast the next day before heading on that we might use this place again. Just keep your expectations in check.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I would not stay here but we had no choice. We were traveling cross-country on a Saturday night and we couldn't find anything available. Because it was late and we were headed west, there didn't seem to be much available west or south of us and we had just come from the east. As you look at this hotel from the street, trust your judgement. We actually went back two times and the choice was there or sleep in the car. This place was not clean or comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear PegJ,
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had in our Duluth location. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#21 of 33 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Duluth

Property: Motel 6 Duluth
Address: 200 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1825
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Duluth has easy access from I-35. Minutes away from Spirit Mountain hiking and skiing. Convenient to all summer and winter events and attractions like Grandma's Marathon, air and water shows. Modern rooms with WiFi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Motel Six
Duluth Motel 6
Motel Six Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing