We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSS!”
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Duluth
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Horrible staff, dirty and extremely outdated facility. Only had smoking rooms which was disgusting. A horrible spot to stay in for Duluth. Beds were old and the sheets and comforters were stained. No amenities whatsoever. Even the wifi was 2.99 per night. Expensive for such a horrible stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kaiden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Kaiden W
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness and service conditions you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Duluth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 141 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I made a three-day reservation through Orbitz, but my buddy had also made reservations for another hotel for Friday night. I cancelled the reservation through Orbitz, but then made a single day reservation to cover Saturday only. On Saturday morning, a room became available at the hotel we were staying at, so we drove to the Motel 6 to cancel in-person. Done. But, wait - they charged me anyway! No proof, so I got stuck with the credit card charge.

Not happy! ...Mac

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Mac,
Our sincerest apologies for your cancellation charges. Please contact our guest relations department and give them your Orbitz confirmation number and they should be able to help you get a refund. 1-800-577-3435

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very convenient location on the trip north and next to an excellent diner, The Duluth Grill, which serves local, organic food.
Our room was clean enough, and we had no complaints about the service, but this is a pretty bare bones operation, even by Motel 6 standards. However, it is SO easy to turn off the expressway, spend the night and have an excellent breakfast the next day before heading on that we might use this place again. Just keep your expectations in check.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I would not stay here but we had no choice. We were traveling cross-country on a Saturday night and we couldn't find anything available. Because it was late and we were headed west, there didn't seem to be much available west or south of us and we had just come from the east. As you look at this hotel from the street, trust your judgement. We actually went back two times and the choice was there or sleep in the car. This place was not clean or comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear PegJ,
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had in our Duluth location. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wish we would have read the reviews for this hotel FIRST! The bed seemed to be VERY used no water pressure--not to mention the absence of the usual toiletries! The whole place smelled. Stay away from the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Probably THEE worst experience! We booked two rooms w/queen beds in each room. One bed in one of the rooms looked like there were scabs all over the sheets!! Horrible!! Don't even think of staying there!! Better off sleeping in the car!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Kevin P - Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced as a result of the bedding cleanliness conditions you encountered in your room. The issues you experienced are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Highly overpriced for what you are getting. You have to pay for access to WiFi, and they don't even privide simple complimentary toiletries. The shower had virtually no water pressure, and the light flickered like a horror movie in the bathroom. Shell out a little extra and stay some place nice, or sleep in your car, either way is better than this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Duluth, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Scott D - We apologize for your unpleasant stay and for the water pressure and bathroom light issues you encountered during your stay. We kindly encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Regarding the lack of amenities such as toiletries, etc. - please know that, as an economy brand, we keep our amenities limited in order to keep our brand promise to offer great value for the lowest price of any national chain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
2.2 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#5 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#19 of 31 in Duluth
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Duluth

Address: 200 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1825
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: $63 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Duluth has easy access from I-35. Minutes away from Spirit Mountain hiking and skiing. Convenient to all summer and winter events and attractions like Grandma's Marathon, air and water shows. Modern rooms with WiFi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Motel 6
Duluth Motel Six
Motel Six Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing