We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The MOST basic Motel 6” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Duluth
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Washburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The MOST basic Motel 6”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What can I say? The cost was cheap, but I've never been in a more basic Motel 6 in my whole life. The general area is run down, but didn't appear dangerous. The reception area is decorated by a fake tree, behind the reception desk. Staff was nice and gave me a smoking room on the 2nd floor, as I requested. After driving around to the parking area nearest the entrance, lugging my suitcase and take-out dinner up the stairs, I found the room I was given had not been cleaned from the previous guest. I called reception who told me to come back to reception & get a new key. So, down the stairs, again lugging my suitcase & dinner, drove my car around to reception, got a new key & requested a 1st floor room this time. Although I did request a smoking room, both hallways were full of smoke. If you are not a smoker, definitely find another motel to stay at.
My room was relatively "clean", although once feeling the rug on my barefeet I put my socks back on. No decorations on the walls. Small countertop TV. No microwave or coffee maker. 2 towels, 1 wash cloth, 1 bar of soap. The chair was so wobbly I didn't dare try to sit on it. There's only 1 ice machine in the motel. So, if you want ice you go to your room, get the bucket, & go all the way back to the reception area. The only thing good I can say about the room is the water in the shower was hot & had good pressure.
Next time I'll pay the extra $20+ and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Although my room was in the back of the motel very near to I-35 I really didn't hear much road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    35
    17
    41
See reviews for
26
34
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

i rented a room, got there late so i asked the 2 people driving me to sit an relax for a little while before they had to leave and we were there about a half an hour and security came up to my room and told me i had to register an pay for any extra people...i told him they were not staying that it was a long trip so they were gonna relax before heading back and he said we would all have to leave if i didnt register them.. so i went to the lobby and asked for my money back to go get a room at the black bear casino and they said no! so i had to pay an extra $20.00 for a room that only cost $39.99!!! i was very UN-HAPPY!!!

Room Tip: I not stay here EVER again..the black bear casino & resort is only 15 mins down the hwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I agree with a previous review that for $46.00 a night you get what you pay for. The room we had was non-smoking and although there was a cigarette smell in the hallway our room was fine. The room and bed were clean and there was lots of hot water for a shower. We stayed two nights and had no problems with noise or the area that the motel is located in. The hotel does show some wear but I've seen some in worse shape. We would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

For $39 to $45 you get what you pay for. Rooms were a bit chilly with no real blankets to speak of - I guess you're supposed to HTFU if you're in Duluth. Beds were not that comfortable but clean and carpeted floor was disgusting. Location is bordering on shady if you are used to the burbs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had originally planned to stay at another place in town, but when I saw my arrival time shift into the evening, I decided to save some money. I arrived in after dark and left before the sun was up, so I didn't need any thrills. The hotel shows some wear, but I seen worse. The bed was comfortable and the internet ($3 dollar fee) was quick enough. I didn't hear any road noise, but I live on a busier road.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_T_allenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was not comfortable and did not feel safe. Police were called by another patron while I was in the lobby. It was literally the only available hotel room in Duluth! Hindsite is 20/20. I should have booked earlier elsewhere.

Room Tip: Paid $3.25 for internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarissa, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you don't mind stairs, or not waking up to sirens...No coffee pot or blow dryer in the room, and the beds are close to the floor! Cramped space around the bed on the wall side...carpet is in fair condition, ripped screens on windows. They do offer coffee in the registration area. It was fairly quiet, but the location is not so great and the missing 'perks' of a 'normal' motel really wasn't worth it. I rated "service" as average because we only asked for towels and did get them. We won't stay here again,

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Duluth

Property: Motel 6 Duluth
Address: 200 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1825
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Duluth has easy access from I-35. Minutes away from Spirit Mountain hiking and skiing. Convenient to all summer and winter events and attractions like Grandma's Marathon, air and water shows. Modern rooms with WiFi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Motel Six
Duluth Motel 6
Motel Six Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing