We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Duluth
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$229
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$100
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
8
25
48
20
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
25
48
20
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom rateroom was largecanal parkhairdryerrateslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 147 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Got into town late at night and didn't want to spend a lot for a short evening's sleep. We were planning to find another hotel the next night anyway to be closer to family. My friend has stayed at Motel 6 chains across the country and wanted to head to this one. When we pulled into the parking lot, there were two police cars there. As we walked into the lobby, a cop walked out to one of the cars. So I felt a little nervous about staying there. It's not the most picturesque location, and I didn't know anything about the neighborhood it's in. But we stayed anyway since we weren't going to be there long.

The only room we could get was a smoking room, and it sure did smell like it. Towels were as thin and rough as possible. No alarm clock, as someone else has mentioned. I noticed some of the doors to other rooms looked in rough shape as I walked down the hall (like bent back from the frame). We didn't have any problems though, and it was quiet where we were. Room was basically clean, other than the smoke smell. I don't need the Ritz (and can't afford it), but this is pretty darn basic. Ok for a crashing a few hours on the road, but I hope to never have to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bad_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

First off, i did not book the Motel 6 expecting a stellar stay in a hotel full of amenities. But for $92 a night, you get a bed and a shower at a price that would offer you something more in better hotels. They didn't even have an alarm clock or a clock in general in the room!!

The service was terrible. I was in Duluth for a wedding that began at 3. I called that morning at 11:30 to see about early check-in, thinking maybe someone checked out early and they could get me in early so I could change there at the hotel and not have to drive 2.5 hours in a suit. They said no, without even checking the computer. A rude "No." They said I'd have to wait till 3 to check in.

Well, we got into Duluth and pulled in to the Motel 6 lot at about 2:30. Surely, they could check us in 30 minutes early, right? No. So I asked if they had a space to change into our clothes for the wedding. She said no. We had to rush to change in the parking lot of the Motel 6!! If that wasn't bad enough, she came out and asked us not to change in their parking lot because of how it might look? Where would we go?

After the ceremony, we come to check in. It's now 3:45. A different woman tells us the room is not quite ready yet. "Wait 15 minutes." I checked back 20 minutes later. Not ready yet. I didn't get to get into the room until 4:45, which meant we were late for the reception dinner at 5.

Once in, I asked if we could get an iron. She said they didn't have any. A hotel with no iron??

The room was plain, which was fine. I only wanted a bed, and AC because it was hot.

My biggest problem is the treatment and the absolute unwillingness on their part to meet my needs, which I thought were not too much. Pretty simple request for a wedding-goer. Considering how much hotels make on weddings, most hotels I've stayed at have at least had staff who tried to get me in early even if it turned out they couldn't. I have a hard time believing no one checked out early and a room couldn't be fixed up for a guest in a bind. They didn't even look to see if they could do it. Just rudely said checkin was 3 p.m. And then they can't get me in till 4:30.

Pay $20 more and avoid this mistake. Duluth is too nice a town to let this terrible operation ruin your visit.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mntoathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
223
Reviewed January 18, 2006

Over the years I've found Motel 6 to be a consistent value. They're virtually always clean, reasonably priced and comfortable but nothing fancy and no amenities at all. This is no different. Having stayed at the Duluth Motel 6 several times the prices vary according to the time of year and I've paid from $38/night to $48/night. There's no view of the lake and the tv is technically "cable" but it's only the local television stations brought in on a cable. There's no expanded cable such as ESPN, CNN, or anything like that. Just the local television affiliates, ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, WB & PBS, so TV is not good for a tv watcher like me. There's no premium channels like HBO or anything. However it is an improvement from the days when Motel 6 charged $.75/night extra for B&W TV! It's close to fast food and a restaurant or two. It's not the greatest part of town but it's OK. There's not a lot of parking for the number of rooms. Rooms are good sized, especially for the price. No coffee, microwave, refrigerator or anything in room, but usually they'll have a pot in the office for a couple of hours in the morning with the smallest styrofoam cups I've ever seen! But all in all, it's a good value for a night's sleep. It's certainly not a relax and vacation room, nor is it a romantic surrounding. Arrive, watch the news, sleep and move on, or if you're spending the day touring the many attractions in the area, you'll find Motel 6 a good value. My next trip there, I plan to check out some of the other motels in the area that are comparably priced and at least have a lake view. I've stayed at better places and worse places but Motel 6 is consistent and clean so I usually will go for one when I just look for a night's sleep.

Stayed: August 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2005

Staying here several times, this is a great spot to stay if you're looking to be close to downtown. They are really nice, clean, quiet...and CHEAP! A good restraunt is next door, and you're two minutes from Canal Park .. without the price!

9  Thank Northpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dickinson, ND
18
Reviewed March 24, 2005

For the price, it was great! We stayed in a $70+ room the night before in Fargo, ND, and I actually liked this one better. It was the first weekend in March of 2005, and we paid just over $25 for the room! Plus, if people get into a fight with knives in the parking lot, the rooms closest to the drama get 25% off! Entertainment and savings!

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews