We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Lake”
Review of Clearwater Grille

Clearwater Grille
Ranked #46 of 260 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Clearwater Grille & Event Center has seasonal hours please call for current specials and hours.
Restaurant details
Description: Clearwater Grille & Event Center has seasonal hours please call for current specials and hours.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“On the Lake”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This restaurant was known as the Lakeview Castle for years and is an icon along the North Shore of Lake Superior just north of Duluth. It has a new name, new owners, a new menu and is completely remodeled including a big deck for outdoor dining. The new menu features MN favorites, as one would expect (walleye and wild rice) but also has some unexpected items like the bacon-wrapped Korean shrimp appetizer. We had the wile rice stuffed mushroom and the walleye egg roll appetizers. For dinner we had the prime rib bites, walleye sandwich (huge!), the Yankee pot roast and a veggie pizza. All were very good but not real hot when they reached us. There is also an all you can eat Friday fish fry. There is a full bar. The outdoor deck has a great view of the Lake, and there is also a nice view from inside. They also have a large party room and do catering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eldereaglewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place :-)”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great view, super accommodating and friendly. We have eaten here several times, come for events and stopped in for drinks. Ribs are great, tortellini is excellent! Yummy hurricanes by Jay the bartender. :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I met a friend for Sunday brunch to enjoy the Bloody Mary Bar they have. Our server was great and because the shots of Vodka used are very generous she was able to have mine divided into two since I don't drink much, she was also very attentive to my friends daughter and brought her crackers to snack on, which was important since this is where the bad part comes into play. For breakfasts they offer a very limited menu and a brunch buffet. The buffet was not set up when we went, or if it was it was not offered to us so we had our choice of 4 egg dishes. I ordered the Eggs Benedict and my friend got the Breakfast burrito. I can't speak for her breakfast but my Eggs Benedict was cold, the yolks were hard and the Hollandaise sauce was from a can or a powder mix. It was awful! There was hardly anyone in the restaurant but we had to wait over half an hour for our food because a table of 6 ordered right before we did, we were told the cook had to get their order out before he could start ours. Either they have only one pan or they have a very inexperienced cook working the kitchen. I would go back in the summer and sit on the newly remolded front deck and enjoy a Bloody Mary and the view, but I will never order food here again. If you are visiting from out of town and on the scenic drive I would suggest you keep driving up the shore, there are some other great places to eat along the way.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GitchSup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is an excellent place to visit for view, atmosphere and of course food. The view overlooking Lake Superior is beautiful. The atmosphere is comfortable, bright and clean. And, most importantly, the food is so amazing. We live nearby and have visited enough times to know that the food will always be impressive. The new owners have done so much to this place, and are very welcoming. If you want good food, this is definitely the place to visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have eaten here three times since it's been remodeled(new owners) and it's one of our go-to's when we want good food at a good price with excellent service. Large windows look out onto Lake Superior. My only recommendation is for some kind of background music as we could hear conversations at other tables easily.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clearwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing