We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What A View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What A View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Hampton Inn is right on Canal Park, where everything is--good restaurants, museum, the bridge. We had the whirlpool suite with the lakeview and it was fantastic! It's everything you would want a hotel suite to be! There's a kitchenette off the entrance, a small living area, a separate bedroom, the huuuuge whirlpool and of course, a view of the lake. The bed was very comfortable, great pillows, very quiet bedroom. Great price, too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurricane_kt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    204
    68
    27
    13
See reviews for
219
233
27
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We arrived at the hotel at about 8 pm and were greeted in a friendly way at the front desk. The attendant processed my reservation promptly and gave us the breakfast information for the next morning. Our room on the second floor had an excellent view of Lake Superior. While the city lights were attractive in winter, I am sure that the experience is enhanced in summer when the boardwalk is available. There is a very nice lounge area overlooking the lake adjacent to the breakfast room. It was very comfortable and warm even at this time of year.
The room was a good size and well laid out. It included a comfortable chair and a mini fridge. The beds were very comfortable and the duvets were great. The bathroom was slightly lacking in counter space with the usual amenities provided. There were helpful cards around the room informing you of services provided. For example when I realized I had forgotten my shave cream in the morning, I called the front desk and they delivered some (complementary size) pronto. Very good service.
The internet service was good after a somewhat slow process to log on via the Hilton site that pops up when you activate your browser. I used the code given. For Hilton Honors guests, perhaps using your ID would be faster.
The breakfast selection was very good and tasty including scrambled eggs, waffles, fruit, 4 types of juice and a selection of pastries and bread. All were fresh tasting. Lots of coffee available all day too!
Checkout was efficient. There had been a snowfall and the parking lot was ploughed so that guests could get out.
Great stay at a great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is a Hampton Inn, so all of the brand standards - decent beds and bedding, fridge in the room, free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, is delivered. I thought the breakfast was a step above some other Hampton breakfasts - less processed food, more food that looked like it was made by a real person in the same town. Like other Hamptons, the pool is not sized for exercise, it's there to keep your kids occupied. A particular strength of this hotel is it's spectacular lakefront location in Canal Park, within walking distance of a very good Thai restaurant, Caribou Coffee, and other restaurants as well as attractions. Duluth is a great town. Only con for this hotel was the front desk service - which wasn't bad, but was not particularly welcoming. But not a big deal. At $89/night with a spectacular location, this place was a steal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine River, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn duluth and were very pleased with our experience. I loved the view from our third floor room- we were able to see Lake Superior and the boardwalk. The complementary breakfast was exceptional and we really enjoyed the window sitting room overlooking the lake. They had a nice selection of breakfast as well. Our room was fairly quiet and overall the experince was great. We will definately be visiting this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahn06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My friend and I stayed at this Hampton for one night on our way up the north shore. The room smelled stale when we got in. We had a suite with a view of the lake, but the windows were dirty.

The room had a whirlpool bathtub which smelled like mildew and bleach.

During the night the neighbor's next to our room had a fan going that rattled ALL NIGHT LONG. Sleep was elusive.

The next day we checked out to a rude desk clerk.

I thought Hampton's were known for their clean rooms. What happened here??? Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Spectacular view of Lake Superior, efficient friendly staff, great HOT breakfast, cookies in the afternoon. A well kept, quiet, clean hotel right in the heart of Canal Park, walking distance to great restaurants and sites! We parked our car when we arrived and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The lounge/sitting area is a great place to watch the sunrise or set of the lake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerngirlnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a nice hotel in a great location.

Check in was easy, we we given two rooms on the top floor with views of the lake. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Parking and breakfast were both free, and coffee was available 24 hours a day. They have a nice little area you can sit with a cup and watch the boats come in and out.

I would definitely stay here again if we return to Duluth

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing