We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a nice hotel in a great location.

Check in was easy, we we given two rooms on the top floor with views of the lake. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Parking and breakfast were both free, and coffee was available 24 hours a day. They have a nice little area you can sit with a cup and watch the boats come in and out.

I would definitely stay here again if we return to Duluth

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    222
    71
    31
    14
See reviews for
246
258
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bertha, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Very Beautiful Views and Comfortable out side seating! The breakfast was wonderful! And the staff was extremely helpful with all our needs....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishinglady71mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed one night at the Hampton Inn in Duluth. The location is idea and great to have free parking. From the hotel you can walk to all of the great shops and restaurants around Canal Park. The lake view was great and the Lake Walk is right out the back door. I especially like all of the little touches that the hotel added to make our stay comfortable.... cookies and apples at check-in. Clean rooms and all bedding is washed for every customer (shower curtains too) There were even beach balls and diving rings in the pool area to entertain our kids. The breakfast was good too :) We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrapDiva425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed here during the Tall Ships Festival in July 2010. The location is exceptional. It is on the end of Canal Park Drive making the parking lot easily accessible. The rest of the Canal Park area can get very congested with traffic during rush hour or special events.

Our room overlooked Lake Superior and the Cribs (an old abandoned cement dock that is now a high diving scene for locals) was right out our window. We had unending entertainment watching the kids dive off that. We could also see the pier from our room and delighted in watching the huge barges and ships go past the lighthouse toward the Aerial Lift Bridge.

We had a standard room with two queen beds and a refrigerator. We are always happy with Hampton Hotels and this stay was great. Their daily free breakfast is a super way to start the day and I am always amazed at the selection of items. We are a family of 5 with three young children, and this hotel was very family friendly. The indoor pool even had pool toys for the kids, which I have never seen before at any other hotel.

We will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chism2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Duluth was our highlighted destination during our week long road trip from Chicago. Our stay at Hampton resulted from a business traveler friend referral.

You can watch the sunrise over Lake Superior from your window (lake side view) but can not see the bridge. For us, this was a peaceful location because the ships do not run 9-5 and the whole passing under the bridge process is noisy. The action (the bridge) is walking distance (1-2 city blocks) and should not be missed. Information near the info center and reportedly in the building outside of the bridge post the anticipated ship arrivals and departures. This way, you can plan your action.

There are probably at least six hotel properties along the boardwalk in Canal Park to choose from. I liked the Hampton for the following reasons: Clean. Powerful thermostatically controlled AC. Great view of peaceful lake. Comfortable beds, pillows, linens. An on-site washer and clothes dryer (occupied by guest with week's worth of laundry; I should have done my load when I first noticed the availability. Quarters and detergent available within the hotel.) Great coffee and breakfast, a Hampton standard. Attentive and helpful reception staff. Smaller hotel than some of their neighbors. Adult only swim for the last hour in the pool area. Hotel not overrun with kids; but this could have been happenstance during our two days there. Either that, or extremely well behaved children. Nicely decorated and somewhat embellished over the typical interstate Hampton. Lots of restaurants nearby.

The Hampton is located at the south end of the lake and we drove up the 'north shore' of Lake Superior for dose of natural beauty. For me, this is what vacation is all about. It is gorgeous, we made numerous stops and hiked a bit to sample the highlighted offerings of the state parks. Some of the main trails have been modified to accommodate access to a wider fitness range of sightseers. Living in the flatlands of Illinois, I was especially happy to see that the waterfalls were still flowing, even though I heard the best time to view them is in early spring.

Betty's Pies on 61 was an intended stop off based on recommendations. We stopped for pie and stayed for lunch. Our waitress there, who's name I can not recall, deserves recognition. We are diners with lots of questions and she sought answers to them all without a hint of annoyance. She was so personable that I studied her interact with the diners at her other tables. She offered the same warm quality of genuine personal attention. Upon leaving, I mentioned to her that she was good at what she does. She snickered a bit and then told us that she just started at Betty's and it was a new job for her. She had a friendly mannerism that registered on personal level, I do not remember her name, she said that lives in Duluth; that's all I remember.

On a different note, one evening we took a long walk and ventured from Canal Park as the sun was setting. After sundown the businesses closed and there seemed to be an element that emerged from the streets. Being from Chicago, we have a sense of what it feels like to be in the wrong place at the wrong time; it started to feel about like that. The safe and secure feelings reemerged after we found our back to Canal Park. I would not stay anywhere else other than Canal Park in Duluth without doing your homework first. And speaking of security, from what I could see, I believe that the Hampton was the only hotel that requires a key card from the lakeside patio access.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valentineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zman319
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Met expectations- meets Hampton Inn standards- will stay again- would recommend

Reserved one day for re-acclimating after 4 days of camping on Isle Royale. Reservation via website.

Location: In Canal Park, fronting lake. During busy weekends getting in/out can be slow due to crowds.

Room: Clean, spacious. Had a Pier-facing room on 3rd floor, which affords a fair view of the canal and about 1/2 of the bridge.

Pool: Clean, hot tub was hot, main pool was cool but not cold. Plenty of towels.

Breakfast: Sausage/biscuits needed some extra pepper, eggs were fine. Pastries were fresh.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Check-in at this location was quick and uneventful for me. I spent some time outside the property, both along the lake view and the touristy attractions. These are literally adjacent to the hotel or one short block away. If you plan to do any tourist activity in Duluth or Superior you should check out this location.

My room was nicely appointed as most Hampton Inns have been. I had a single king bed, flat screen TV, free wireless Internet, shower, tub, armoire but no closet. I'm not sure what the architect was thinking with skipping a closet but my clothes fit in the armoir. The water temperature on the shower was a little touchy but the pressure was acceptable. The room was clean as was the rest of the hotel.

I was hoping for biscuits and gravy and a bit of an indulgent breakfast but had to settle for sausage patties and slightly dry eggs. They do have a waffle maker and cereal, all the usual breakfast offerings. I also took advantage of the grab'n'go breakfast on the last morning as my flight was scheduled to leave at 6:00 am.

The elevator worked well during my stay, as did the fitness center. I did not spend any time in the indoor pool. The fitness center is a bit cramped for space and had one elliptical, one recumbent bike, a stair-stepper IIRC and a small weight set.

There is a meeting room/lounge area for readers and casual acquaintences just off the breakfast area.

Several restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and activities are within a block or three from this location. It really is the best location for many visitors. The Grandma Marathon finish is about 2/3 of a block away, toward the Little Angie restaurant. Or at least there is a finish circle in the sidewalk!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing