We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Good Canal Park Choice - But Not Hampton's Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Good Canal Park Choice - But Not Hampton's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Canal Park has several good lodging choices - but we chose the Hampton Inn because they had available rooms and we have had good experiences with this chain elsewhere (we are Hilton Reward members). This property had the typically good Hampton free breakfast and breakfast staffers worked hard to keep up with demand. Our double queen lake view room was clean and comfortable with nice decor, but it was sorely lacking drawer space. King bed rooms are likely better. The armoire served as our primary clothing storage space and fortunately, we brought our own hangers allowing us to to take full advantage of the armoire space. Microwave and refrigerator are a plus. Don't know if all first and second floor rooms have similar issues, but there were either elephants in the room above us or sound proofing between floors is poor. Washroom was small but had plenty of nooks and places to place toiletry items. Towels were good quality. Service and housekeeping were friendly. This facility rents bikes at a nice price. Only constructive criticism: When entering the parking lot, we felt like strangers crossing a military checkpoint. We had no problem with the need for a hanging rear view mirror ticket to identify Hampton patrons (patrons of other establishments tend to use lodging lots for free parking). It was the woman at the lot checkpoint who made us feel like we didn't belong - even after a week of coming and going. This is the lodging's first impression - and we would suggest a bit more warmth and personality. We noticed how much friendlier the young man at the lodge parking lot next door was. Other than that, Hampton is a good - safe bet for a Canal Park stay.

Room Tip: A lake view room is well worth the price and will enhance your stay. Might want to request a third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrot434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    204
    68
    27
    13
See reviews for
219
233
27
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Perfect location. Recently renovated. Absolutely the best breakfast. Room comfortable & well maintained. Can not find anything to even be neutral about. Will be back if ever in the area again. Try the bike rental.

Room Tip: Lake front is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Falls, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel on July 12, 2014. Clean, pretty and comfortable. Was quiet and close to everything we wanted to do in Canal Park.Would recommend and would return. Also, the free breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location was excellent. Convenience to trip objectives was very good. Instructions from staff to make connections was right on. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Location for pleasure experiences (shopping, food, sight seeing very good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank cfritzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Perfect location to see the sights. Nice breakfast to start the day. Easy walking to restaurants like Grandma's and to see the bridge. Went to see the many wonderful sights and college visits! Went to The College of St. Scholastica , and University of Minnesota at Duluth (UMD)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank pat051500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a Hampton, plastic cups and below average food quality. $280 per night is outrageous for this level hotel. Make it a Doubletree or Embassy Suites with the requisite quality, and then charge that price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In response to your comment about plastic cups and food quality. Both are standards of Hampton that we have no choice but to follow. Hampton dictates specifically what we use and what foods we are allowed. I also checked your rate which was only 239 for the holiday weekend then dropped down to 189 for your last night. I would also like to comment on the fact we were sold out at the time you used your Diamond status to force yourself into the hotel for that weekend. Our hotel is priced comparable to the other hotels in Canal Park. I apologize if you felt we did not meet your expectations of a Hampton property. We do our best to follow Hampton standards in our pursuit to provide quality service to our guests. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful location on Lake Superior. Had a great handicapped bathroom. Good breakfast and guest services. My 94 year old mother and I celebrated my 70th birthday by visiting the rose garden at the end of the lake walk. Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 498sallyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing