We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on the Lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Inver Grove Heights, United States
1 review
“Great on the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Duluth. Even if you have a room facing away from the lake the breakfast area overlooks the lake. This is a good place to be able to explore the area from. The historic lift bridge is just down the road. Great restaurants right in the area too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    215
    70
    31
    13
See reviews for
233
248
27
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the view of the lake is stupendous, and I bet the amenities would have been nice if they weren't all taken by the group of hockey teams that were staying the same weekend. The pool was always filled, the lobby was full of boisterous teenagers running around and being quite loud, and there was a drunk in the hallways at 2am waking up me and my girlfriend. The yelling at 2am was becuase "the hallway smelt like marifuana," this was at least what the drunk was yelling along with, "anyone got some booze," "who's up," "lets party," and some great racial slurs that bruatally offended me. Security was there and they did nothing about it. I would reccommend a different hotel if you want great R&R. The management has not done anything to correct the wrongs that we experienced and I am waiting for some sort of compensation or at least an apology.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorri D, Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize your stay was less than satisfactory. In regards to the usage of the pool and other public areas, I'm sorry you were not able to enjoy them as you would have liked. As for the noise at 2am and the issue with the drunken person. I can not apologize enough. I agree it is unacceptable and should not have been a part of your vacation. I do know security and the manager on duty were both on the floor trying to take care of multiple issues though by your review I can see it was not as timely as we would have hoped. Again please accept my apologies and know this is not the norm for us at the Hampton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent location, room was quite large with the Jacuzzi hot tub. Only complaint was the noise of patrons running up and down the hallways, hollering, slamming doors - sounded like they were right in our room unfortunately!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 155Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenyon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Canal Park for a business meeting. I was impressed with the updated decor and the location of the hotel. Easy access to restaurants, a walking path on Lake Superior right outside the hotel, beautiful views

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for business or pleasure. The Canal Park area is bursting with restaurants and stores yet downtown is 5 minutes away,
Greeted with a friendly smile and quickly assigned our room with instructions on how to get there. This is a “happening” hotel in a vibrant location. We arrived at 11 pm but there was still a group enjoying the lounge overlooking Lake Superior adjacent to the area where breakfast is served. There is another, more intimate lounge area across from the check-in counter with a fireplace.
The room was clean and had all the amenities. The desk/work area was especially well thought out with a table on wheels that could be pushed in or pulled out for more desk space under the fixed ledge for books or papers. As with all the Hampton Inn’s I’ve stayed at recently, there were multiple plugs for computers or charging devices.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept well under the warm duvets.
The breakfast area was particularly roomy in this Hampton with all the usual offerings including eggs, oatmeal, sausages, toast, bagels, butter and Becel and the great Belgian waffle machines.
Checkout was quick and we were on our way from the well maintained parking lot.

Room Tip: views from all rooms are good. On the city side you can get some nice night shots, lake views are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mannycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the best hotel that I have stayed at in Duluth. I thank the friendly and helpful staff who all had smiles. Breakfast area was perfect with lots of seating and large windows to view Lake Superior.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This particular Hampton in right on the beautiful Lake Superior. A beautiful place to get away but be so close to things to do. There are many great shopping and dining locations within walking distance and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#14 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing