We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
559
275
95
36
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
559
275
95
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location canal park within walking distance lake superior the breakfast area nice hotel lake view breakfast staff board walk hotel is located walking path enjoy the view hockey tournament rooms were very clean a great stay waffles front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
751 - 756 of 983 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this Hampton because of the reviews, the location and we were able to use our Hilton points. We were not disappointed. We had no issues while there (other than the fact that my husband was sick for two days!). We loved being so close to waterfront and the bridge. We called the hot line the evening we arrived and walked down to the pier to watch a huge ship come in through the canal and under the aerial bridge.

The hotel was well appointed and the room was clean and comfortable. At no time did I feel unsafe even when leaving in the evening, by myself, to pick up some food to take back to the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants near by.

There is bottled water in the lobby in the morning and cookies available in the afternoon. Breakfast could either be a "Grab and Go" bag or a delicious hot meal. There are plenty of tables but they were usually full. There is a glassed-in room behind the eating area with chairs and sofas where I ate two days while watching the people walking along the shore.

We would love to come back and visit Duluth. There was a lot we were unable to see. If we do, we would certainly want to stay again at this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Although we had a "city view" room it would have been terrific to have had a "lake view" room but only if it was an upper floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed a lakeview room. The lakeview room is worth the extra money! We immediately opened the window and let the cool, fresh air from off of the water blow in the room. Very relaxing! This Hampton seemed very clean and well maintained. The landscaping was very nice. We appreciated the friendly staff as well. We have been dissappointed as of late with other Hamptons we have stayed at but there was no dissappointment with the Canal Park Hampton. We felt all of the rooms were a little overpriced but I think that is consistant with the canal park area. After seeing some of the other hotels we were glad we had chose Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank acdcOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay in the Canal Park area in Duluth MN. The lake boardwalk is outstanding, as is the bike path right outside your door. The hotel is very conveniently located with many restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Be sure to bring ear plugs if you plan to stay at this hotel when there is severe fog and rainy weather conditions. The Fog Horn on Lake Superior kept me awake the entire night due to it being 5 miles from the hotel location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful location right on the lake - great views and easy access to walking path. Staff couldn't be nicer, but MN is known for it's friendliness. Room was on small side, but was comfortable and bathroom was larger than most. Only complaint is that walls are thin and I could hear people talking and walking around. Not too bad until my upstairs neighbor dropped what sounded like a kettle bell around midnight... Breakfast was good and I liked that bottled water was available for free. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews