We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great place to stay in Duluth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to stay in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed a lakeview room. The lakeview room is worth the extra money! We immediately opened the window and let the cool, fresh air from off of the water blow in the room. Very relaxing! This Hampton seemed very clean and well maintained. The landscaping was very nice. We appreciated the friendly staff as well. We have been dissappointed as of late with other Hamptons we have stayed at but there was no dissappointment with the Canal Park Hampton. We felt all of the rooms were a little overpriced but I think that is consistant with the canal park area. After seeing some of the other hotels we were glad we had chose Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank acdcOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    203
    68
    27
    13
See reviews for
219
233
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay in the Canal Park area in Duluth MN. The lake boardwalk is outstanding, as is the bike path right outside your door. The hotel is very conveniently located with many restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Be sure to bring ear plugs if you plan to stay at this hotel when there is severe fog and rainy weather conditions. The Fog Horn on Lake Superior kept me awake the entire night due to it being 5 miles from the hotel location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful location right on the lake - great views and easy access to walking path. Staff couldn't be nicer, but MN is known for it's friendliness. Room was on small side, but was comfortable and bathroom was larger than most. Only complaint is that walls are thin and I could hear people talking and walking around. Not too bad until my upstairs neighbor dropped what sounded like a kettle bell around midnight... Breakfast was good and I liked that bottled water was available for free. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tugaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I will say one thing, the best thing about this hotel.... it is the first time we didn't have to throw the bedspread in the corner. They use duvet's, how wonderful and a very smart idea. They're washed every day. This is very important to us, we could actually use it... cover up with it... and feel it was clean. Also, if I could have had one of the pillows as a gift...it would have been wonderful. Very comfortable. The people at the desk were very kind.
Always take a room on the lake side. Nothing is more beautiful than ships coming in, in the morning and just the view of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good value in beautiful canal park area. Beautiful lobby, nice and clean rooms, well laid out rooms with great features for the business traveler. Carpets in hallway are a bit tattered and stained but condition of room made up for it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I picked this hotel over the one my husband wanted because the listing had the word 'balcony'. I wanted a balcony off the room to sit and overlook the lake. Found out later the word balcony was indeed singular...the hotel has one communal balcony, not off the rooms. Oops. Notwithstanding, this is a nice hotel. Rooms were nicely appointed and clean, with a roomy bathroom. While not hugely spacious overall, they are okay for a short stay for a family. Staff was very friendly, and the breakfast is wonderful and available later than many hotels offer. Our parking pass allowed us to stay in the lot after checkout time and continue to explore the Canal Park area. And one of the nicest things...my daughter left her nightgown on the bathroom hook. When we discovered it missing, upon my call they said they had found it and would ship it to us, as we were long gone from the area. I asked, how much do I need to pay you? "No charge". I tried to offer again and they said, "No, don't worry about it". Now that is customer service! Great place, I didn't regret the lack of room balcony one bit. There is a lovely landscaped area behind the hotel where you can overlook and enjoy the lake view just fine anyhow...and their balcony is there too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing