We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceptional Hotel, Staff and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Duluth
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel, Staff and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have been to this hotel many times over the past 10 years. It never disappoints. It is located right on Lake Superior. The location is great. There is a boardwalk right in front of the hotel, right on the Lake that goes for many miles. So to go for a walk or a run, the views are beautiful. In the warmer months you can rent bikes and go for carriage rides. Of course the lift bridge is always so interesting and beautiful to see. If you cross the lift bridge, you can drive out to the peninsula to a beautiful sand beach. It looks inviting to swim, but the water is always so cold, that it is tough to stay in. Back to the hotel, the property is beautifully maintained. The breakfast is different every day and always very good. The breakfast area looks out onto the lake, so beautiful. They keep coffee and water on all day. Afternoon brings on the afternoon cookies, great coffee. The staff are friendly and always willing to help in any way. They are quick to solve any problems you may have. Around the area, there are a lot of shops to look through and places to eat within walking distance. We have stayed at two other hotels in the area the Hampton the best in our opinion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_l_koch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    191
    65
    26
    13
See reviews for
201
220
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
238 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Nice location right on Canal Street and with a great view of the lake. Wish the rooms were a bit bigger and had a balcony. Loud hallways and only one elevator. Breakfast was above average for Hamptons. Hotel needs a facelift. There are nice places to stay in the area that we will probably visit in the future. Internet a little slow, great amount of parking available. Each room comes with a fridge and microwave which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xiphoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herbster, WI
Level Contributor
100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Right on Lake Superior in Canal Park, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better location in the area. The rooms are always immaculate and the staff friendly and know the area so very well. Within walking distance are shops, restaurants, and area attractions.
Were it not for the processed eggs for breakfast, I would have given it six stars. The eggs are disgusting.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a lake front room and visit the Lake Superior museum just a little east of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a nice hotel situated on the lake. It is very nice, clean breakfast included. Near lots of restaurants which is quite walkable.
Friendly staff and info re the local cuisine.

Room Tip: They have lots of rooms and on the main level next the water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For a 2 star property, it was a nice hotel. The price though was kind of steep and more reflective of a 3 star hotel. The breakfast was on par with other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. The breakfast area had a nice view of the lake and the Duluth lighthouses. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iowacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Duluth, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can serve you in the future. You mention the cost was a bit pricey. I can assure you our rates are in line with other hotels in the area. Duluth is a tourist town, and with being right on the lake and so close to shopping and restaurants it does affect our pricing. We do try to even it out by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, wi-fi, excercise room, pool and hot tub to name a few perks. We certainly understand the need to spend wisely and hope that your overall experiance at the Hampton is a pleasant one. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Duluth - Canal Park during a skating competition at the DECC. This is the second year in a row that we've stayed here and this year we noticed that the rooms were very clean, almost new, and thought it was the nicest Hampton Inn that we've ever stayed at. It's not typically the hotel I search for when travelling and have stayed in a couple that I wouldn't return to, but I would definitely go back here. Not sure if the rooms have been updated since last year?? The breakfast buffet was decent, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. Nice selection of pillows and soft bedding. It's a great location for tourists right on Canal Park with lots of nearby restaurants, shops, and tourist places. We'll be back next winter!

Room Tip: You can spend a little more for a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here over MEA weekend. Like so many other Hampton Inns, this was a great stay. Courteous staff, clean and well decorated property and rooms, very nice pool, great location near lots of restaurants, and a plentiful breakfast. This property have become one of our preferred places to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Duluth

Property: Hampton Inn Duluth
Address: 310 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Duluth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing