We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #43 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Texas Roadhouse is a steak restaurant providing legendary food with legendary service. Texas Roadhouse specializes in hand-cut steaks, fresh-baked bread, fall-off-the-bone-ribs, and made-from-scratch sides. We also serve ice cold beer and legendary margaritas. Treat your family and friends to a night at Texas Roadhouse.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful place to eat. Very informal and quite loud, but that did not take away from the wonderful steak we had. My daughter had the loaded sweet potato and I had the plain sweet potato. Bothe were very good. The steak was done just the way we like it - medium rare - and the rolls they have are just fabulous. They also bring you more rolls until you don't want anymore!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eveleth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family always loves stopping here and this trip was no exception. Service was good and the staff is friendly. Always make sure you plan on getting here around the time they open as it fills up quick!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICE LAKE
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

After a busy day of sightseeing in Duluth, you want a great meal to end your day. Texas Roadhouse always delivers great service, food and delicious rolls with cinnamon butter. We called ahead for seating and our table was ready when we arrived!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Your Average Texas Roadhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is your average Texas Roadhouse, except with employees that look like they wished they were dead. If not dead, at least not currently working at that place. I've been to the one in Coon Rapids at least 4 times and the employees have a lot more fun there. They're quite enthusiastic, in fact. The employees at the Duluth location did a very half-hearted dance when the time came (it's what they're supposed to do as a part of their job--line dancing to a certain song). I thought it was ironic that they have on a shirt that says "I <3 My Job" and their attitudes and manner say something totally different.

The food was OK. My ribeye steak was pretty good, but my boyfriend's roadkill was tiny. It's supposed to be 10 oz of meat but it looked like he was lucky if he got 6oz. We've gotten it at the Coon Rapids location before and it was huge. He also ordered steak fries as one of his sides and it was about half the size order of what we'd have gotten at CR. He was like, "Wow, this is what I'm supposed to eat?" It was our one meal of the day, and his meal was pretty pathetic. At least mine was decent. I ended up giving him at least 1/3 of my steak.... As for the rest of my meal, the side salad I ordered was good, but my "loaded" baked potato was pretty sad. I paid $.99 more for hardly anything. Anyhow, the buns were good, as usual, but that's not the only reason to go to a restaurant (save Red Lobster's Cheddar Bay Biscuits....).

All in all, I wish we had gone to one of the special restaurants in Duluth instead of this chain. It was just kind of meh compared to what we had been having in Duluth. I'd rather we had saved our money and calories for something better. Duluth is expensive, and I expect good food and service for my money. Everywhere else we went stepped up to the plate except this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMJDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for our anniversary with another couple. We all ordered something different and all agreed it was excellent. Server was Casey and he was nice, friendly, and checked back to make sure we were happy. He was familiar with the menu, also. We decided Tues. was a good night to go, got seated immediately. Prices were inline with other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DuluthmnFroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing