We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #43 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Texas Roadhouse is a steak restaurant providing legendary food with legendary service. Texas Roadhouse specializes in hand-cut steaks, fresh-baked bread, fall-off-the-bone-ribs, and made-from-scratch sides. We also serve ice cold beer and legendary margaritas. Treat your family and friends to a night at Texas Roadhouse.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went for our anniversary with another couple. We all ordered something different and all agreed it was excellent. Server was Casey and he was nice, friendly, and checked back to make sure we were happy. He was familiar with the menu, also. We decided Tues. was a good night to go, got seated immediately. Prices were inline with other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DuluthmnFroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    50
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ugggh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you like huge amounts of meat with grease, and lots of noise in a dark setting, this is your place. Last time I was there, I ate 1/3 of the meat on my plate, and became sick from it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetruthwillsetyufre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babbitt, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Ole Texas comes to Northland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first time going here, so we weren't sure what to expect. We did go on a Saturday night, and it was Duluth's UMD graduation. They do not accept reservations, but they do call ahead seating. Now, as a tip, call ahead seating does not mean that you are seated at the time you called ahead for. It is not a reservation, which it seemed liked on the phone. It just may cut your wait time, but, in the end, it is worth the call ahead. A family arrived shortly after us and did not call ahead, and they were seated 45 minutes after us.
When you call ahead, they suggest to call ahead an hour before coming to the restaurant, but to arrive 15 minutes before the time you given. The call ahead system starts out automated, where there are different options to choose from. Then, when you get to a live person, you may have to give more details for what you need. Then, you give them the time you want to eat, and they will give you a confirmation number. When you go in at the time you said and give them that confirmation number, they give you a pager that will vibrate when they have your seat ready. It was nice that the staff came out and gave a sample of their Deep Fried Pickles while we waited outside.
As for handicapped accessibility, parking was good, and the doors have a pole in the middle. A standard wheelchair would fit through. Once inside, let's just say it's the customers that you have to worry about, some of them would not move out of the way to let me through. The table they sat us at was way in the back. On the phone, they made it sound that the tables for wheelchairs were right inside the restaurant. Luckily, Texas Roadhouse has an awesome staff that were very helpful to stop traffic and help navigate to our table.
It is very loud in the restaurant, with loud country music playing and people talking. At times, it was hard to hear our family talk, and even hearing our waitress talk about the different cuts of steak and menu items was difficult. Our waitress was very helpful, knowledgable on the menu items, and answered any questions we had. She checked on us often and brought refills when our drinks were low.
Now, the food, through all the wait, plowing through customers, the navigation to the table, and the loud noise: Texas Roadhouse is the place to go for steaks! They give you a basket of bread with a cinnamon flavored butter that they bake fresh every five minutes, and they will bring more. And, I can't forget to mention the bucket of peanuts on the table, where you can throw the shells onto the floor.
So, don't let the wait, the crowds, or even the noise keep you from enjoying a great steak and the other tasty menu items they provide. Our family gives Texas Roadhouse in Duluth an A- with the couple of issues the food. But, the service was outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naykki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Value Plummeting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Its good chain restaurant. The service is competent. The food is -ok, how to describe - the food is ok. There is no French chef hiding in the back. But over the period of the last few years prices are up about 20%, portion sizes are down and upselling is WAY UP. What used to be a real treat of a night out has been transformed into an average mass-produced, cost-optimized, dull dining experience. We are locals and might have gone for the last time tonight. Bummer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoccasinMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
534 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Always Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service here is good! The food arrives very quickly. The steaks are not quite as good as outback, IMO, but the food is good none the less.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing