We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese in Duluth!”
Review of Hanabi

Hanabi
Ranked #33 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Phone number (218) 464-4412 and email hanabimn@hotmail.com
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Duluth!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I went here for dinner about a half hour until close (without realizing.) We were blatantly informed that we could eat there, but only had a half hour to finish, which came off as rude but we were hungry so this wasn't a problem. We were both so glad we had the chance to eat here as the food was fantastic! I got a vegetarian sushi entree with fried rice and it was probably the best I've ever had! He said the same about his meal. The atmosphere is excellent with unique and modern decor, and there is also a full bar. The rough outside of the building hides a wonderful hidden gem. We will be returning!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 02chelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Has gone downhill.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been a huge fan of Hanabi but recently I have not had the best of experiences. Last visit there, the service was terrible- Had to ask for a server initially, was told we could request specific things on a combo platter but didn't follow through (ended up getting nearly the complete opposite of what we asked for), and everything took forever. The entire experience took over 2 hours on a Monday night! The bit of fish we ate was delicous but the rolls we not that good. One that I was familiar with was extremely mushy with terrible texture. Bleh. To top it off, it was my birthday dinner. Good thing I was surrounded by people I love!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Bay, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Three visits, all awsome.”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

One of my new favorite restaurants in Duluth. One lunch, two dinner visits. Beautiful lounge, try the leeche martini, omg. Trendy décor, neat and clean. Service could be a bit more personal, but not bad. The main reason for going to a restaurant, the food, and Hanabi is on point. Fresh, tasty works of art.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin cities
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stopped by for lunch and had a great meal. Service was great, food was excellent and overall a very good value!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outside of Chicago, as good as the best in the Midwest.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I went here twice on a business trip; once for dinner (take out) and once for lunch (dine in). I'm not from Chicago, but I've had a lot of sushi there. Taking Chicago's sushi out of the equation, this was as good as you'll find in the Midwest. If you are jonesing for sushi, this is the place. It's not cheap though: two drinks while I waited plus the "chef's choice" to go was $70.00. Lunch was 23.00.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanabi also viewed

 

Been to Hanabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing