We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Sushi in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanabi

Hanabi
Ranked #26 of 247 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone number (218) 464-4412 and email hanabimn@hotmail.com
Esko, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hanabi has to best sushi in town. My favorite is the veggie rainbow roll. My mouth is watering just thinking about it! I do think that it can be a bit pricey at times, however they have great lunch specials!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetmurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Pricey for an unexceptional meal. I got the sense that the focus was more on a scene than food value compared to quality/quantity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dregonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm so thrilled that Hanabi came to little old Duluth!
This is the best sushi place in town. There's a big city hip vibe inside and quality food all the time. They have a huge menu and the bartenders are very courteous.
I've liked every item I've tried except the banana roll, but then again I don't love bananas so I shouldn't have tried it. Kiss of Fire is awesome, rainbow roll, mango roll, spicy tuna roll, North Shore roll, Anchor's End roll. ALL ARE GREAT!
This is a quality place and I always leave feeling more than satisfied!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have had sushi all over the area, nothing compares to Hanabi! Very fresh and offers a great variety to choose from the menu. Very clean inside, a must for sushi lovers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Duluth's Best Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The outside of Hanabi is kind of sketchy -- you wouldn't expect the food to be nice at all. However, once you walk through the doors you realize this isn't the case. It's extremely trendily designed and easily has the most expensive, best tasting Sushi in the North.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank knovikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing