We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Blackwater Lounge is THE happening place in Duluth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwater Lounge

Blackwater Lounge
Ranked #8 of 252 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Black Water Lounge is Duluth's premiere martini lounge. With a full bar, hand-crafted cocktails, exquisite lounge food, live jazz music and lady's night, Black Water is the finest upscale martini bar in the Duluth-Superior area. Black Water Lounge is located in Duluth's Old Downtown and was once the home of the Black Bear Lounge in the historic Greysolon Plaza. Host an event at Black Water's Manhattan Room - perfecy for Anniversary Parties, Engagement Parties, Birthdays & Corporate Gatherings! Rent the entire lounge on a Sunday for your larger group!
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The Blackwater Lounge is THE happening place in Duluth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our second visit in two years since we live way out west and I don't mean West Duluth!!! The Maxi trio is easy to listen to and plays and sings all the great tunes of today and yesterday. We love Martinis and they serve up a nice variety of those drinks.
What people may not realize is they have some gourmet eatings for happy hour. We enjoyed everything we ordered and it waa not on a thursday like the sushi specials the other patrons are claiming so good and cheap....it was on a Weds. but equally as good I'm sure. We know the bass player really well Steve N. but now are getting to know the other two....Maxi and the piano player...apparently not as well especially if I can't remember his name..

Nonetheless Duluthians you should be proud of the fact you have a classy place like the B.W. L. to go to right in your own backyard.
We already are planning to visit them again next summer when we return to Duluth!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TOMARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so thanful to have you as a customer to Black Water Lounge. We greatly look forward to seeing you again next year - hopefuly sooner!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    68
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just average food, great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Group went in on Monday night, they were out of steaks. Scallops were overcooked and chewy. Very limited menu options.
Flatbread was average, and was the best meal at the table. Lobster bites were excellent for appetizer.
Drinks were perfect and lounge area was spacious enough for larger group.
Service was good, waitress friendly and manager did check on our group.

I would recommend for snacks and drinks but not for upscale dinner experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysAMomFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Black Water Lounge!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods & Black Woods Catering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great martinis, service is...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I often come to BW for a drink with friends for $5 martinis and half-off sushi on Thursdays. This last Thursday it was a total nightmare, however. They had a private party booked for the upstairs and a gentleman was running around with a notepad stuffed in his suspenders, trying to take a seating list. Once we got seated, we literally had to chase down our waitress and it took over an hour to get our sushi.

I think BW should consider staffing extra on Thursday, as it makes for a more pleasant experience for the guests. Obviously, they were busy and that is a good thing. I'm just saying, plan ahead next time!

My favorites are the Lavender martini, or the Ol' blue eyes. I think they took it off of the menu but you can still order it. :)

And...I just tried to call them and ask a question and no one answered. They opened a half hour ago, so someone should be there?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gucci123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your business to Black Water Lounge and hope to have you back again soon. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff to ensure only the best experience when you are dining with us. Thank you for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events
New London Corporation - Black Woods, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods & Black Woods Catering
katiem@blackwoods.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Thursday night specials for the win!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I only go here for the Thursday night sushi specials, it's a steal. The sushi menu is short, but they aren't exactly a sushi place, either. They have some very unique "rolls" that are worth experimenting with. The drink specials are killer, too, and they have some fantastic martinis and cocktails.

This joint is a little bit more upscale than most other places in Duluth. There's a minimal dress code, so be prepared to take your hat off, at the least. This place gets busy, and service suffers from it, but it's certainly not bad enough to keep you away.

The dark, cool lounge feel is also very unique for the area. It's a fun experience, to say the least, and on Thursday nights you can have a yourself a great night at a really good price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again for our Ladies Night on Thursdays!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom & Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtrum, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi and martinis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Blackwater Lounge is one of my very favorite places in Duluth. Every Thursday night is Ladies night which means all martinis are $5! I have tried several different drinks there and so far my favorite has to be one of their newest menu items, a cucumber basil gimlet (made with vodka). That is very refreshing and not sweet at all (I do not favor heavy or sweet tasting mixed drinks). They also have a terrific menu that includes a nice selection of sushi. I have had other foods off the menu, and all are delicious (the flatbreads are amazing!) but the sushi is by far my favorite. Another favorite menu item is their chocolate dessert fondue. HEAVEN! And of course it is something you must share with your favorite someone. :)

The atmosphere at Blackwater is very welcoming. You can sit in the bar area or choose a table by the piano (they always have great music!) OR you can choose to sit upstairs where they have big chairs and comfy couches-it is also quieter up there, if you prefer that to the piano/main seating area.

The staff is always super nice!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freespirit74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We greatly appreciate your business to Black Water Lounge!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom By Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
katiem@blackwoods.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackwater Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing