We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi and martinis!”
Review of Blackwater Lounge

Blackwater Lounge
Ranked #11 of 267 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Black Water Lounge is Duluth's premiere martini lounge. With a full bar, hand-crafted cocktails, exquisite lounge food, live jazz music and lady's night, Black Water is the finest upscale martini bar in the Duluth-Superior area. Black Water Lounge is located in Duluth's Old Downtown and was once the home of the Black Bear Lounge in the historic Greysolon Plaza. Host an event at Black Water's Manhattan Room - perfecy for Anniversary Parties, Engagement Parties, Birthdays & Corporate Gatherings! Rent the entire lounge on a Sunday for your larger group!
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Blackwater Lounge is one of my very favorite places in Duluth. Every Thursday night is Ladies night which means all martinis are $5! I have tried several different drinks there and so far my favorite has to be one of their newest menu items, a cucumber basil gimlet (made with vodka). That is very refreshing and not sweet at all (I do not favor heavy or sweet tasting mixed drinks). They also have a terrific menu that includes a nice selection of sushi. I have had other foods off the menu, and all are delicious (the flatbreads are amazing!) but the sushi is by far my favorite. Another favorite menu item is their chocolate dessert fondue. HEAVEN! And of course it is something you must share with your favorite someone. :)

The atmosphere at Blackwater is very welcoming. You can sit in the bar area or choose a table by the piano (they always have great music!) OR you can choose to sit upstairs where they have big chairs and comfy couches-it is also quieter up there, if you prefer that to the piano/main seating area.

The staff is always super nice!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank freespirit74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments! We greatly appreciate your business to Black Water Lounge!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom By Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
katiem@blackwoods.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This is only uppscale place I know of in Duluth. Good well dressed staff. Live musuc. Good happy hour. A bit more expensive. Martinis. Food is OK

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mdeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing & Events Director at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods & Black Woods Catering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love this place! It is a romantic, classy, upscale jazz bar. A perfect place to meet your co- workers for an after work drink! The martinis are fabulous and so is the sushi. With specials like Ladys night and $5 martinis who wouldn't want to stop by for an evening out!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adminMSNRN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of Black Water Lounge! We greatly appreciate your patronage to our local business. Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events for New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

On a recommendation from a relative we stopped for the cucumber martini and we were not disappointed!! The lounge wasn't want we were expecting for an older part of the city, it was much BETTER than expected! The atmosphere was hip, intimate and comfortable; the décor beautiful. Every one of the wait staff we encountered was very pleasant. You could tell they enjoyed working there and delivering the great food and drinks to your table. The cucumber martinis were delicious! We also had the fondue for two...OMG...we're still thinking about that!! And the lobster bites were awesome! I have a feeling you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. My only regret is not going there sooner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of Black Water Lounge! We are so excited to hear about your experience with us. So honored to have your business and hope to see you again very soon. Be sure to bring your friends with next time you visit!

Sincerely,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Restaurants, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom, Black Woods Catering
KatieM@blackwoods.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Duluth is bar challenged. However, this bar stands out based on its great concoctions for drinks and the ambience provided throughout the lounge. The stools are the most comfortable stools I have ever sat on at a bar. The drinks are fresh, fun, and different. Lastly, it's great people watching!

Thank GTINTC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at Blackwater Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful response. We greatly appreciate your feedback and business to Black Water. Hope to see you again, soon!

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom, Black Woods Catering
katiem@blackwoods.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackwater Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Blackwater Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing