We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
Nisswa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Thought it was going to be just another tourist trap, but was super pleased. Service, food just perfect. It had been 20+ years since we had been here and didn't expect much. What a surprise! We both had steak and they were prepared exactly as ordered. A little spendy for up North but well worth it. Try the spicy Pecans for a starter...very good

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Genpattco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    75
    32
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slayton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burnt French Toast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Service was bad, waiters and waitresses fighting over tables, waited too long for our food, restaurant was gross, pancakes and French toast came burnt.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, Manager at JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear Chantelle S,

Thank you for taking time to review JJ Astor. We have in fact gone through some culinary changes and are in the process of reiterating our standards of service. Please contact me directly to make your next visit with us great. Alyssa.schwanke@radisson.com

Regards,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Simply a perfect evening. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ Astor. Thank you, Cindy for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beatlegirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Food and View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We last visited this establishment when two of our now teens were little (5 & 9 yrs old). Our kids get a huge kick that the restaurant rotates and you can see everything in and around the Duluth Harbor area! You will not be disappointed with the food! We shared menu items, Walleye Sandwich, Chicken Sandwich, and Smoked Brisket Poutine. Walleye sandwich - a very nice sized portion of fish, and the baguette didn't overtake the fish! Nicely seasoned as well! Chicken sandwich - very juicy, nicely done! Smoked Brisket Poutine - very different and delicious! French fries on bottom, layered with small fried cheese curds, smoked brisket, and covered in a light white gravy. So tasty!! Our little girls had hamburger(comes with cheese), very juicy and delicious. Popcorn shrimp - not too breaded(we had a little taste). Lastly, an egg and bacon with side of fruit. All the food was suburb! Our server was sweet and delighted with our little ladies(3, 6, 7, with one teen 14). All their seats are window seats : ). They also were happy to take reservations over the phone, but at our particular visit - for lunch, we would have been able to get in without one. Highly recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sundestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love My City By The Bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wanted to try the new restaurant formerly known as the Top Of The Harbor at our old stomping grounds, Radisson Duluth Hotel. The view itself makes it worth the trip. Went for brunch. Nice menu selection...prices not bad...food quality not the greatest. Tried the Smoked Brisket Poutine. Lots of potatoes but very little meat and the gravy was lukewarm. Menu description made it sound better than it was. Chicken sandwich a little dry also. But the desserts surely made up for it. The Lemon Curd Torte and the triple scoop ice cream selection were delicious. Would possibly go back when I get to Duluth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing