We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge

JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Superior St and 5th Ave W
Description: Welcome to JJ Astor (located on the 16th floor of the Radisson Hotel Duluth), where guests enjoy welcoming service, inspired décor, modern approachability, unparalleled views, and signature dishes. Executive Chef, Ryan Zander, has created a contemporary menu utilizing sustainable produce from local farmers and fresh fish from local fishermen. Whether settling into the oversized armchairs in the lounge, or admiring the view from the inviting sofa style banquettes, the restaurant provides a memorable dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
2 reviews
“Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Simply a perfect evening. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere, simply amazing; no trip to Duluth is complete without a sunset dinner at JJ Astor. Thank you, Cindy for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beatlegirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    75
    28
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Food and View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We last visited this establishment when two of our now teens were little (5 & 9 yrs old). Our kids get a huge kick that the restaurant rotates and you can see everything in and around the Duluth Harbor area! You will not be disappointed with the food! We shared menu items, Walleye Sandwich, Chicken Sandwich, and Smoked Brisket Poutine. Walleye sandwich - a very nice sized portion of fish, and the baguette didn't overtake the fish! Nicely seasoned as well! Chicken sandwich - very juicy, nicely done! Smoked Brisket Poutine - very different and delicious! French fries on bottom, layered with small fried cheese curds, smoked brisket, and covered in a light white gravy. So tasty!! Our little girls had hamburger(comes with cheese), very juicy and delicious. Popcorn shrimp - not too breaded(we had a little taste). Lastly, an egg and bacon with side of fruit. All the food was suburb! Our server was sweet and delighted with our little ladies(3, 6, 7, with one teen 14). All their seats are window seats : ). They also were happy to take reservations over the phone, but at our particular visit - for lunch, we would have been able to get in without one. Highly recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sundestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love My City By The Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wanted to try the new restaurant formerly known as the Top Of The Harbor at our old stomping grounds, Radisson Duluth Hotel. The view itself makes it worth the trip. Went for brunch. Nice menu selection...prices not bad...food quality not the greatest. Tried the Smoked Brisket Poutine. Lots of potatoes but very little meat and the gravy was lukewarm. Menu description made it sound better than it was. Chicken sandwich a little dry also. But the desserts surely made up for it. The Lemon Curd Torte and the triple scoop ice cream selection were delicious. Would possibly go back when I get to Duluth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had breakfast here, nice how restaurant revolves so you get a good view of the city. Food was good and reasonably priced. Would be fun to try at night to see the city lights.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursecommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a view, unique restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The floor rotates so you see a panoramic view of Duluth. Service was excellent, late night food was delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to JJ Astor Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing